[ REVIEW ] MANDOM Bifesta Cleansing Lotion Acne Care

I recently reviewed the Cleansing Sheets from Bifesta, and to continue on, I wanted to write a review for the Cleansing Water as well. Now, I think it would have been more ideal if I continued with the Moist Up line, but instead, I am choosing to write a review for the Acne Care Lotion instead. Why? Because I suffer from occasional acne troubles, being that I’m fairly acne prone, and I wanted to find something ideal for my constant breakouts. If you haven’t already read my review for the Cleansing Wipes, then click here. Continue reading how I fared with the lotion (though I’m sure you guys already know what the outcome will be.)


As shown in The Beauty Aesthetics header icon

うる落ち水クレンジングローションは、100%オイルフリー。みずみずしいローションをコットンに含ませてなでるだけで、メイク油を浮かして包みこみ、濃いメイクや毛穴のファンデーションだけでなく、くすみの原因となる古い角質も、こすらずするん!と落とします。保湿性洗浄成分は、実は化粧水由来の成分です。まるで化粧水でクレンジングしているようで、使い心地も良く、みずみずしくうるおって後肌はしっとり。摩擦低減処方で肌にもやさしい。メイク汚れと一緒に、しっかり包みこんで落とします。毎日のクレンジングで、使うたびに明るく透明感のある肌へ導きます。

Bifesta Cleansing Water is 100 % oil-free. Just soak your beauty cotton with Bifesta Cleansing Water lotion series, which lifts up and captures make-up oils. With no need to rub, simply and quickly remove heavy makeup and foundation left in your pores as well as dead skin cells that cause dullness of complexion. The moisture-retaining cleansing factors are in fact derived from beauty lotion, so it is as if you are cleansing your skin with beauty lotion. It feels comfortable and moist, leaving your skin richly hydrated. The non-abrasive formula is gentle to your skin. Together with makeup, the dead cells are firmly captured and removed. Daily cleansing produces clear and bright skin with each use.

Mandom Bifesta Cleansing Lotion is a 100% oil free micellar water that has taken over Japan as the must have cleansing product in your skincare staples. The water uses special micelle technology to effectively remove dirt, oil and makeup from the skin whilst deep cleaning the pores for fresh skin. This particular brand of micellar water became popular in Korea through their beauty talk show “Get it Beauty” where the skincare expert uses the lotion as a makeup cleanser, a facewash/astringent toner and DIY cotton mask pack. Calary Girl A (a famous YouTuber in Korea) also swears by the entire Mandom Corporation line, and has been sponsored multiple times because she goes through countless bottles of the Cleansing Water in particular; I’m pretty sure in one of her videos, she was gifted with 20 or so bottles of both the Water and the Eye Cleansing Water.
Bifesta Cleansing Lotion comes in 4 different types to suit your specific needs; PINK which is moisture based, for the added hydration ideal for those who have more dry or sensitive skin types, BLUE with a vitamin C boost for improved skin clarity and brightening effects, whilst tackling sun damage and skin darkening, RED which has coenzyme Q10 effector added through for anti-aging properties, and GREEN (the one I have) ideal for those who suffer from acne, or have oilier skin types. From what it looks like, the brand doesn’t carry the sebum cut version anymore, and has re-formulated it to become the acne care. Correct me if I’m wrong, because I can’t find the sebum cut version anymore.

The packaging comes with a sturdy plastic bottle and a pump for hygienic purposes. This also has a plastic pump stopper that prevents accidental leakages. Each bottle comes with 300mL of cleansing liquid, ideal to last a minimum of 2 months, and a maximum of 6 months, depending on how you use the product. In Cosmehut Carousel, the Bifesta Lotion is $25 AUD which isn’t expensive at all, considering a 300mL amount. Online, the prices average to about $23 AUD, which again, isn’t expensive and very close to our retailing price (SURPRISE cause getting Japanese products OUTSIDE of Japan is usually expensive as hell, and to top it off, Perth, where I live, is the most expensive place to be in Australia and prices here aren’t cheap at all.)
The liquid itself looks like water, is runny just like water but feels nothing like water. It has somewhat of an oily finish, but absorbs right into the skin. I find that people, like myself, who have oilier skin types, don’t feel as clean when using the lotion on it’s own based on the texture alone. The oily finish might put some people off, however I personally like it because it keeps my combination skin feeling balanced.

INGREDIENTS: Water, PEG-7, Glyceryl Cocoate, PEG-6, Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Phenoxyethanol, PCA Ethyl Cocoyal Arginate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Citrate, Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Hydroxylated Lecithin, Glycerin Butylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydroxy-Propyl-Trimonium Hyaluronate

*note: I’m not too sure these ingredients are 100% correct or in the right order. My katakana to english ingredient translation abilities are shocking. Also, I have trouble reading in general (hence why there may be grammatical errors skewed throughout my entire blog.)

Ingredients listed in orange have a category 3 or 4 in safety rating, which may cause irritations in some people. As I say in all my reviews, it is best to patch test on your skin first before buying to see whether this is ideal for you. YMMV meaning what might work for me may be a disaster for you. Always test before you buy unless you have no problems with skincare at all. What I like about this is that it contains a LOT of hydrating ingredients so it is perfect for those who want the moisture boost without the need for too much in their skincare routines. This also seems to have no acne triggering ingredients, so it is an ideal option for those who, like mysql, are acne prone and are often worried about skincare that may trigger break outs.

The lotion is humectant based, meaning that it draws moisture from the air and penetrates into the skin, thus being ideal for those who are lazy in their skincare as this can replace your traditional methods of makeup cleansing, washing and toning steps in your skincare routine. Whenever I feel extremely lazy (which generally is on a Monday night after work, having Tuesday morning the next day) I remove my makeup with the lotion using a cotton pad, clean my skin with another cotton pad, and then using my hands, soak the lotion into my skin through massage. I then take some more cotton, and saturate it, leaving the cotton sheets on my face for 5-10 minutes on my cheeks, chin and forehead for an added hydration boost and I usually go to sleep right after. The thing about Micellar waters, and this one in particular, is that you don’t have to wash your face with water after, and because it contains so much moisturizing capabilities, skipping moisturizers doesn’t damage the skin texture. In fact, I’ve noticed it improves skin cell turnover, particularly during Golden Hour (10PM to 2AM.)

Now to breakdown the claims. This makeup remover can be used in many ways, though it’s true intention is to, as the name suggests, break down makeup on the skin and deep in the pores. I found that it does pretty well in removing light makeup without any dramas. When wearing thick makeup, it breaks down all the makeup without fail, but uses a whole lot more cotton, and for those who have a strict budget and don’t like to waste unnecessary amounts of money on cotton pads, this might not be for you. With waterproof makeup, I wouldn’t personally like to depend on this product alone. Though I have had no troubles thus far, I prefer a double cleansing method to remove all traces of makeup, just in case. I’m acne prone, and it’s ideal for me to be very cautious, or I end up with breakouts everywhere.

I have the usual on my arm, swatched to show you how this product works. I have five staining lipsticks, waterproof eyeliner, waterproof mascara, waterproof eyebrow, concealer, foundation, highlight, contour, blush, shadow and cheek rouge
With only one swipe, some of the makeup was removed onto the cotton
With one swipe, the foundation, some of the powdered products and lip rouge were removed completely. The lip products have also removed quite well, but being a stain product, the colour hasn’t judged. The eyeliner, eyebrow and mascara haven’t broken down yet
After gently massaging the cotton using my finger pads and a second swipe, the makeup has completely been removed, and only very slight stains from the lip products are present on my arm

Used as a skin, my skin is always hydrated without a doubt, I find that my acne heals faster and my pores don’t remain too dirty after using it. If I use the lotion on it’s own however (as in, in replacement for cleansers, makeup removers etc,) my pores become congested and I have to use pore cleansing specifics to keep my blackheads at bay.

Prior to using the Bifesta Cleansing Lotion on my skin, my skin wasn’t actually too bad in terms of hydration. The reading however shows that my skin isn’t entirely balanced
After using the Bifesta Cleansing Lotion, the reading shows my skin has become balanced and is at perfect condition. Though this indication doesn’t show much of an increase in oil to water levels in my skin, it truly does work to balance moisture levels. Take my word for it

As a cotton sheet mask, this is a great way to target specific skin concerns through the cotton sheet mask method, where you saturate a cotton with high concentrations of essence, or skin and apply the cotton to your face for a specific duration in order for your skin to drink up the nutrients and improve faster than normal. The lotion in mask form cools down the skin and soothes any irritations. I like to do this twice a week at most, or when my skin has breakouts, because I find my skin becoming less sensitive to touch, and my acne disappears to almost non-existent the morning after.

Let’s recycle one of my very old selfies. Basically, I took some cotton, and soaked it in the Lotion, placed it on my cheeks for about 5 minutes before removing and continuing with the rest of my skincare

PROS:

  • Can replace an entire skincare range, and make skincare extremely easy
  • Pretty cheap, considering there isn’t too great of a price difference here in store at Cosmehut Carousel, nor online. $25 AUD for the amount of product you get is a bargain IMO
  • Very hydrating, and specific target claim (acne for mine) definitely kept pimples off my face
  • Extremely hydrating
  • Very cheap, both online and in store
  • Breaks down makeup fairly well
  • Balances the skin quite well
  • Great skin cell turnover the morning after this product is used
  • Perfect for lazy days

CONS:

  • YMMV depending on whether your skin can tolerate the ingredients or the lotion itself
  • Oily skin people might not feel clean after using the lotion on it’s own
  • Depending on how you use the lotion, this can either last you a very long time, or in my instance, a month or so. Because I multipurpose this lotion a lot, I end up using more than the average person and cost of this product adds up over time. On top of that, I find I end up running out quicker when I use the lotion in mask form, rather than a cleanser or skin

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★★★
PRICE ★★★★★
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★★★
OVERALL ★★★★★

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

    VERDICT:

    I swear by this product and I have been pushing people to get one at work as well. I used to like it a lot before, but when I saw it used in Get it Beauty, I finally started using the lotion religiously and it hastily made it’s way into one of my HG must haves in my skincare routine. I can’t think of any other micellar water out there in the market that can top this particular one, for it’s effects, superb hydration, and cost for product. I definitely urge you all to grab one ASAP and give it a shot for yourself. This is perfect to use in replacement of a toner, if y’all don’t want to purchase something that’s too expensive, something you can DIY as a sheet mask if you guys can’t find a mask that’s ideal for your skin troubles, and perfect as a quick skin cleaning item for days when you really can’t give a single fuck about your appearance.


    That’s it for this review today; let me know if you want me to review the other three Cleansing Waters as well, and do a comparison. If you guys are interested, then I’ll happily do this for you (since I’m already almost out of the Acne Cleansing water and needing a restock.) Have any other micellar waters you want me to try? Shoot me a comment telling me which brand you think is up there and I’ll see if I can get my hands on it. As usual, check out my SNS sites and don’t hesitate to message me about anything. I love all your feedback, comments and general chit chats! If this review tickled your pickle, then click the star, don’t forget to share with your friends and family, and until the next post~

    Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics

    Twitter : beavties

    Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
    If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.
    picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg

    2 thoughts on “[ REVIEW ] MANDOM Bifesta Cleansing Lotion Acne Care

    Leave a comment