[REVIEW] DR.JART+ Vital Hydra Solution Deep Hydration Sheet Mask

Y’all guys know how much I hATE LONG ASS NAMED PRODUCTS BECAUSE THEY’RE TEDIOUS TO WRITE OUT AND MY ENGLISH SPEAKING CAPABILITIES ARE POOR SO MY PRONUNCIATION GOES OUT THE WINDOW *ahem*

Welcome back to my little blog where this time, I’m reviewing a sheet mask requested by one of my readers, who contacted me through my Instagram page. Here you are darling; mind you that this mask was hard to get and by far one of the most popular masks in Perth at the moment, that places all around were sold out. Luckily for me, I received this from a dear friend so I could push this review out for you. Keep reading to see my thoughts and whether I’d repurchase it or give it a miss next time I see it around.


wp-1465521878915.jpg

A cellulose sheet mask that deeply hydrates, replenishes, and protects skin’s own moisture.

What it is formulated to do: 
Made of fine cellulose fiber, the lightweight, transparent mask allows pores to fully absorb essential nutrients and moisturizing ingredients for an ultimate hydration therapy. It immediately hydrates dry skin due to lack of moisture while aquaxyl—a patent moisturizing ingredient—enhances moisture retention and strengthen barrier function. Ultra-low molecular weight hyaluronic acid activates skin moisture with high absorption, and seaweed extract, which containins algeinicacids, moisturizes and removes impurities.

What it is formulated WITHOUT: 
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

Suggested Usage: 
-Cleanse and apply toner.
-Peel off, discard the film liner, and apply mask adjusting around eyes and mouth.
-Leave on for 15 to 20 minutes.
-Remove the mask and gently pat remaining serum until fully absorbed.

wp-1465521875494.jpg

From what my friends have told me, Dr.Jart+ is a brand specialized in quality skincare, that’s ideal for even the most sensitive skin types, and thus is great all round for people looking to treat their skin issues or complexes. I’ve never used Dr.Jart+ products before, besides this one cream that I now love, and so far, have been fairly impressed with. When I saw that Dr.Jart+ have sheet masks, of course I wanted to grab them all, but as I mentioned before, these masks are hard to get and I searched all around the city to find them. Not a single store had any in stock as it is the most desired mask in Perth at the moment.

Each Dr.Jart+ sheet mask pack comes with 5 pieces only, retailing for roughly $25 AUD, which is a bit expensive but not too much that you’re breaking your budget severely. Single pieces go for about $6 which, again, isn’t the cheapest, but isn’t crazy expensive (unless you live in Korea and therefore you’d possibly get this for what we’d pay in AUD for like, $1.)

The mask is very thin material, feeling like second skin, which I absolutely love. I hate masks that are thick (which you guys all know, but just in case for new readers) and this mask in terms of material and cutting goes, did not disappoint. The sheet fit nicely on the skin, with not too much excess left on the sides of my face or hairline. As usual, I wish the nose was a tad loner or wider to fit, but all in all, I’m highly impressed. The mask also comes with backing paper, for easier application. Simply put the mask on and peel the backing paper off, or if you find it easier, peal the paper first before applying the mask. The mask is seeped in essence, which is a tad on the runny side, so you want to work fast with applying the mask, or you’ll be covered head to toe in serum.

wp-1465521869089.jpg

Now, with the scent, this mask is very strongly fragranced with a floral, almost licorice sort of smell, which didn’t bother me, if it weren’t so overpowering. The smell dissipates after a few minutes, but be warned that you’re breathing in a whole lot of perfume when you initially start the treatment. The packaging is awfully large for the mask as well, with the mask situated all the way at the bottom and a whole heap of empty space at the top. This however, meant there was a heap of serum in the package, which you can use on your neck, the rest of the body, or a second treatment by soaking some cotton in the essence and applying it like a mask.

wp-1465521872195.jpg

INGREDIENTS: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol, Panthenol, Betaine, Xylitylglucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Algae Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Chlorphenesin, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Schizandra Chinensis Fruit Extract, Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Carbomer, Arginine, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Acorus Calamus Root Extract, Perilla Ocymoides Leaf Extract, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil.

Ingredients listed in bold typing have potential acne irritations, though all sit at category 1 for irritation chance, so you’re more than likely not going to break out or experience discomfort. I however, would like to mention as per usual, that YMMV and you might want to patch tsp beforehand to see whether your skin can tolerate the mask or not. Ingredients highlighted in orange are category 3 for safety issues, though, once again, these ingredients are all preservatives or fragranced based and hence why the rating. All in all, the ingredients list is heavily packed with moisturizing ingredients, that cancel out the alcohol content in the mask.

Now for the claims; this mask offers deep hydration whilst preventing skin from drying out. Basically, a balancing mask that helps control sebum with injections of hydration all around. This also contains ingredients that offer collagen support and reproduction to firm the skin, and of course, as per all sheet masks, brightening effects. Aquaxyl is derived from plant glucose to replenish your skin with deep moisture. Xylitol is an ingredient to help hydrate and strengthen the skin’s acid mantle barrier to prevent water loss. Oligo-Hyaluronic Acid is a well known ingredient that provides the utmost hydration, and is an ingredient that works extremely well with collagen for firmer looking skin. Algae Extract supports natural collagen synthesis, so it is an ideal ingredient source for those who are looking into using products without collagen (since collagen is animal based) but have the same effects.

I noticed using the mask, my skin definitely felt hydrated and well nourished, and my skin tone appeared to be brighter after using the mask. The effects didn’t last a very long time though, which was a tad disappointing and I’d probably say with continual usage, you may see effective results but for a one time use, it wasn’t very evident to say, as it lasted probably throughout the night and the morning after ONLY. As for firming care, this didn’t tighten my skin or make it more bouncy, but this mask is after all, hydration based, so I wasn’t expecting to be a difference in my skin texture honestly. Nonetheless, it would have been nice to see, but overall, pretty good for hydration I’d say. It soaked almost instantly into the skin, and the mask stayed fairly saturated after 25 minutes of usage, so this mask can easily be left on for 35 minutes or longer, though not recommended because your skin may actually dry out from too much serum. Oh and last comment, I didn’t have a reaction or any irritations whatsoever. In fact, my skin felt more calm after using the mask, which I usually don’t get from using sheet masks ever, even aloe vera masks.

PROS:

  • Good for hydration and balancing the skin
  • Brightened the skin effectively
  • No reaction whatsoever ad skin felt a lot calmer after using the mask
  • Heaps of serum left in the package after removing the essence
  • Very thin mask with adequate skin fitting capabilities; feels almost like nothing on the face, which I absolutely LOVE
  • Absorbs very well into the skin

CONS:

  • YMMV using the mask, so it’s advised to patch test first, though I had no reactions whatsoever
  • Strongly fragranced
  • Not the cheapest, for $25 a box of 5 pieces, or $6 for a single (LUCKILY FOR ME I GOT IT FREE)
  • Effects didn’t last as long as other mask effects would, which is a shame

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★★☆
PRICE ★★★☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★★☆
OVERALL ★★★★☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERDICT:

All in all, I can’t really fault the mask, because it definitely brightened my skin, provided ampoule hydration and really worked to balance my skin. The scent, though it’s not gross, is very strong and it did feel like I was breathing in fumes for a good 3 minutes, but it did dissipate over time, which was nice. The essence soaked so well into my skin, and I loved how saturated the mask was even after the recommended 20 minute duration time. Peeling the mask wasn’t uncomfortable, as some masks dry out and stick to the skin. I however, wish the effects lasted longer because I was excited with the initial results. I think I’d repurchase the mask if it were to be on shelves again, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy some online if I couldn’t find it locally. The mask is good, but not great in my humble opinion and I have used masks that are better. Though, in saying that, I’d be very happy to receive this mask as a gift from someone, and I definitely would repurchase it again. If your skin isn’t severe in sensitivity, then you can give this mask a shot as well; since most of my friends have fairly sensitive skin, and have had no issues thus far using the mask pack.


Do you guys have any other masks to recommend me trying? I’m definitely always on the lookout for top quality masks to try for myself, and see whether they were worth the hype or not. As per usual, you can check out my social networks, and these days I’ve been more active on Instagram, so you’re more likely to find me there, or on my personal Facebook account, which you guys are free to add if you wish.

Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics
Twitter : beavties
Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg

Leave a comment