[ REVIEW ] TONY MOLY I’m Real Pomegranate Mask Sheet

This mask has been floating around the Asian Beauty blogging world for quite a while now, and though I really dislike Tony Moly products, this one was rewarded 5 star status by a few hundred bloggers, so I thought, why not try it for myself? If you want to see my thoughts on this pack, then keep reading.


thumb-30812218_3P1SqNyI_I_M_REAL_MASK_SHEET_800x2658

Restore your skin with the I’m Real Pomegranate Mask Sheet! This 3-layer pulp sheet is filled with pomegranate extract and an enriched water-based essence that yields maximum hydration while promoting elasticity for your skin. No parabens, talc, benzophenone, or triethanolamine included.

wp-1465556765675.jpg

Tony Moly’s I’m Real Sheet Masks are all fruit based, with different functions for different purposes. The one I have is the pomegranate which focuses on firming the skin and improving elasticity; what I believe to be essential for those who want to care for their skin texture, for more smoother looking and feeling skin. The pomegranate mask is also one that a lot of people opt for in sheet masks, from what I have seen thus far, so this particular mask must be one of their best sellers from the line. The line itself has three categories also; water essence type for hydration, emulsion type for skin smoothening and water to oil balance, and milky type for those who need a boosted hydration as this penetrates the dermal layers of skin better and is ideal for the more dryer skin types.

wp-1465556770765.jpg

The mask packaging actually made me cringe a bit because of how cheesy it looked, and I was a bit embarrassed to have this in my stash of sheet masks. I don’t know, I prefer the appearance of mask packets that look a little bit more on the clinical side but this design is CLEARLY different to my aesthetics. Nonetheless, the mask itself wasn’t covered with a plastic backing paper, which was weird because I got so used to seeing them with sheet masks, that this time around, I felt like I was cheated a little bit. The packet also didn’t have much essence left at the bottom. The entire pack however, had a lovely sweet scent that i really enjoyed; not entirely fruity but very refreshing. If you are sensitive to smells, then keep in mind that the scent coming from this pack is leaning towards the strong side.

wp-1465556774853.jpg

Applying the mask though, it wasn’t second skin but it wasn’t too thick that it felt uncomfortable on my face either. For a drugstore branded sheet mask, I think the quality of the paper is pretty good, though not my entire taste. I can still wear it comfortably but I would honestly prefer it to be a bit thinner. The mask conformed and adhered well to my skin with not much left along my hairline or sides of my face, which was lovely. Of course, with all sheet masks, I do wish the mask had a longer nose part because my nose is too bulbous at the tip, but that was to be expected.

wp-1465556778577.jpg

INGREDIENTS: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, PEG/PPG-17/6 Copolymer, Glycereth-26, Panthenol, Bis-Ethoxydiglycol Succinate, Allantoin, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Chlorphenesin, Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol, Tromethamine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Propanediol, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Hydrolyzed Elastin, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance.

Ingredients highlighted in BOLD WRITING are all category 1 for skin irritations or acne, so unless your skin is sensitive to these ingredients, you should be fine. YMMV though and it is always wise to patch test a sheet mask before buying a heap of them at once. I’d rather waste a few dollars on one sheet mask than to regret buying a whole pack and be allergic to them all. All ingredients in orange are deemed level 3 category for safety, and once again, if you know your skin inside and out, you’d all probably be fine, but always remain cautious when trying out new things.

Let’s breakdown the claims now. This mask suggests that using this particular pack will help firm the skin texture, and make it more elastic. Being a watery essence type mask, you should be provided with decent moisture which is ideal for dry skin types, or rebalancing for oily skin types. This does actually contain pomegranate fruit extracts, which is nice and I really trust in the effects of fruit, so I was really keen on seeing some decent effects. There are no parabens, talc, benzophenone, or triethanolamine included in this pack, and it seems to not have any added alcohols either. A bonus for some of you.

I was initially planning to keep this part on the positive side, but instead, I have to be real with you. I didn’t see any real effects from this mask whatsoever. My skin texture remained the same after usage, and throughout the next day, my skin didn’t feel more or less hydrated, my pores, which I was monitoring throughout this treatment, didn’t change and my skin didn’t appear brighter in any way either. Usually with anti-aging or firming care products, your pores change and this didn’t do anything for them whatsoever. Pores control the condition of your skin and when your pores are congested, or sagging, then it affects your skin texture dramatically. No changes to my pores, meant this mask was practically useless for me. I experienced no initial reaction, but as the time went by and nearing the 15 minute mark, the mask was near dry and felt itchy on my skin. I peeled off and immediately soothed using high percentage aloe vera products.

PROS:

  • Smelt nice with the scent of something slightly fruity
  • Decent paper quality with little to no excess around the circumference of my face
  • Adhered well to the skin
  • Wasn’t too heavy feeling on the skin
  • Adhered well to my face

CONS:

  • Claims seem to be false for my use; my skin remained the same as if I were to not have used the sheet mask. Since I wanted to disprove this, I went out and bought another two masks, so altogether I sampled this three times in total. With each trial, I can safely say that I didn’t see a difference at all and I felt as if I wasted my money.
  • No initial reaction, though using the pack for the first time, I did experience itchiness closer to the 15 minute mark of the treatment. With the second and third trial, I kept the mask on for 10 minutes and was fine.
  • The mask does suggest a 20-30 minute treatment time, though by 10 minutes, all three trials had to be stopped around 10 minutes as there wasn’t enough serum saturated into the sheet, nor was there any serum in the packet at all.
  • I purchased the masks locally for $5 AUD which is so expensive for a road shop brand. Online, the masks were going for $3.50 US on average, and once converted to AUD, the price is definitely higher than what I’d expect. Buying locally was by far more cheaper than buying from an online store, but even so the prices are indeed ridiculous and definitely not worth the money in what you get in terms of quality.

RATING:

QUALITY ★☆☆☆☆
PRICE ★☆☆☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★☆☆☆☆
OVERALL ★☆☆☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERDICT:

What can I say other than this mask was a load of shit. Don’t bother wasting your money, unless you’re trying sheet masks out for the first time. Even if so, I still wouldn’t recommend this to anybody. Heck, I wouldn’t even give this mask away as a gift to the person I hate most. One, there are masks at the same price AND even cheaper that ACTUALLY deliver on their claims. Two, masks from road shop brands shouldn’t be more than $3.50 AUD at all. Three, the mask is a damn cotton type, and usually gel type or cellulose type masks retail for the same price as this. You’re better off buying a gel type mask than this crap for that price. In fact, I wouldn’t even wipe my ass with this; the sheet is too dry, even with the serum it has on it.

I know this is a bit of a controversy since a lot of you guys were claiming how good Tony Moly I’m Real Sheet Masks are, but I couldn’t even see the slightest change in my skin whatsoever. Care to disagree? Let me know down below or through my social networks, because I DO want to give this mask another shot. You guys praise it; I should at least give it one more go to see this mask from your point of view. Got any recommendations, or any products I should have a try? Let me know too, I’m always on the lookout for new goodies to sample.

Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics
Twitter : beavties
Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.
picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg