[ REVIEW ] SULWHASOO Gentle Cleansing Oil Mini

Over at Cosmehut in Carousel, we ran out of stock of all oil type cleansers and as I just finished my Missha one, I opted to grab the Sulwhasoo Gentle Cleansing Oil in small size, since the larger size was also out of stock as well. This review will still be a normal breakdown of what this baby can do, but also, whether I’d buy the full sized one or thank the All-Maker that I only grabbed the sampler. Stay tuned to see what my thoughts on this product are.


wp-1465468204511.jpg

산뜻한 사용감의 오일이 얼굴에 부드럽게 롤링되어 메이크업 잔여물과 노폐물을 없애주는 저자극 클렌징오일

클렌징 다음 단계를 위한 피부 바탕 정돈
의이인과 진피 추출물, 행인유 성분을 원료로 맑고 건강한 피부 바탕을 다져줍니다.

부드러운 오일의 섬세하고 매끄러운 롤링감
매끄럽게 롤링되는 오일이 적은 자극으로도 가볍고 빠르게 침투해 메이크업을 말끔히 제거해줍니다.

잔여물 없이 산뜻한 마무리감
물과 만나면 활성화되는 워시오프 성분으로 메이크업과 노폐물이 얼굴에 남지 않고 산뜻한 마무리감을 줍니다.

물을 묻히지 않은 상태에서

Gentle-Cleansing-Oil-How-to-Illustration_1
손바닥에 2회 정도 펌핑하여 이마→코→볼의 순서로 원을 그리며 마사지하듯 클렌징합니다.
메이크업 잔여물과 노폐물이 녹아 나오면 티슈로 닦아내지 않고 미온수로 여러 번 헹궈냅니다.

 

A cleansing oil that gently removes makeup residue and skin impurities.

  • White Birch promotes the skin’s natural circulation and turnover cycle to restore a healthy glow
  • Spreads smoothly over the skin to remove makeup and pore-clogging impurities
  • Delicate enough to be used around lip and eye area

Gentle-Cleansing-Oil-How-to-Illustration_1

Before moistening face, pump Gentle Cleansing Oil 2-3 times.
Massage starting from forehead, nose and to cheeks in a circular motion.
Cleanse makeup and residue with warm water. Do not use tissues to cleanse.
Rinse thoroughly and continue with regular regimen.

Sulwhasoo products always call for Korean introductions, as well as the diagram of the lady showing us all how to tend to our skin. Nonetheless, the description sounds promising and worth an investigation. It claims to improve the skin cycle turnover for brighter looking skin, remove impurities from the pores as well as break down makeup particles.

The bottle I purchased was $18 for a 50mL sampler, which I think isn’t too bad of a pricing, considering how expensive Sulwhasoo products can be. The full sized product is 200mL worth $48 which is decent to say, that other branded oils I have tried offer less amount for a higher price. I think, compared to other oils in the market, Sulwhasoo comes off quite moderate, to, what I’d consider even cheap. The packaging is made with a sturdy plastic exterior, comes with a pump and a pump cover to prevent accidental leakages.

INGREDIENTS: Isopropyl Palmitate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, PEG-8 Isostearate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Spirodela Polyrrhiza Extract, Coix Lacryma-Jobi Ma-Yuen Seed Extract, Castanea Crenata (Chestnut) Shell Extract, Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Pinus Koraiensis Seed Oil, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Nelumbo Nucifera Germ Extract, Squalane, Dextrin Palmitate, Glyceryl Behenate/Eicosadioate, Butylene Glycol, Fragrance

Ingredients in BOLD writing are potential acne triggers sitting at level 1 and 2 category except for the first ingredient in the list, being Isopropyl Palmitate. Being deemed level 4 for acne triggering and level 1 for irritation, Isopropyl Palmitate is a synthetic ester that can clog pores with prolonged usage, thus blackheads and possibly leading to acne and breakouts. Ingredients highlighted in orange are category 3 for safety and is an indication for ingredients that may trigger some sort of reaction depending on your skin type. YMMV and thus it’s best to sample the product before buying, or do what I did and purchase the latter before making a big decision to purchase the full sized product.

As for using the oil itself, it performed just like any oil would; it cleansed my skin from all the heavy makeup I was wearing, it emulsified very well and it washed away easily. With the Sulwhasoo one, I noticed that my skin did feel more conditioned and more smooth compared to other oils I have used in the past. I found that my skin did appear brighter after using the oil, my skin didn’t feel dry and my pores seemed to be clean. Now, with all Sulwhasoo products, there is a faint herbal scent, that of ginseng, their main ingredient that made Sulwhasoo what it is today. Funny, because there isn’t ginseng in this ingredients list whatsoever. I quite liked the smell, but I know a lot of people hate the smell of medicines so it’ll be a huge hit or miss when it comes to how you perceive this scent.

Being someone who has sensitive skin around my chin and nose, I personally didn’t have any issues using this, and selling this product to customers, not one of them have complained about this either. Though it has no ginseng inside it whatsoever, this oil didn’t break me out or cause itchiness and discomfort. It was quite soothing for the skin and was a great way to relax as well, as I found the scent to be aromatherapeutic. I am however, not happy that this fragrance is more artificial and would have liked to see real ginseng used in this. I’m also not happy that, despite Sulwhasoo being a huge high end brand, that they use ingredients with level 4 category acne triggers, especially as their FIRST ingredient. Though, I can’t say I reacted negatively to using the oil, it’s still a worry in my books.

PROS:

  • Compared to other oils, it is moderate priced to cheap. $18 for the 50mL and $48 for the 200mL
  • Handy packaging design
  • Claims seem to be true; brightens skin effectively and clears pores and skin from impurities like dirt, excess sebum and makeup
  • Emulsifies incredibly well
  • Leaves skin feeling smooth and well nourished

CONS:

  • The dreaded ingredients list, with a level 4 potential acne trigger as the first ingredient
  • Artificial ginseng scent, would have liked it to be real ginseng instead
  • Despite being a Sulwhasoo product, it didn’t contain ginseng in it at all
  • The smell may bother some people, though I personally liked it
  • Only one skin irritating ingredient, but with the 6 potential acne ingredients, it is best to sample the product before purchasing as you may have an adverse reaction to this cleansing oil

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★★☆
PRICE ★★★★☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★★☆
OVERALL ★★★★☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERDICT:
I’m probably being nit-picky because as far as using the Sulwhasoo cleansing oil goes, I can’t fault it in any way. It does a good job at cleaning the skin, breaking down makeup and keeping skin well nourished with an improved skin texture. In fact, I’d possibly go on to say that my skin has never felt this nice with an oil cleanser before. It’s that ingredients list that gets to me, and it’s due to the fact that I get acne very easily that using the oil makes me worried. I would still recommend this oil to those who don’t have issues with acne, or aren’t prone to breakouts because I can honestly say that this weekly trial has thus proven that it doesn’t irritate my skin. I’d probably still recommend it to people who do suffer acne as well, because it caused me no problems whatsoever. I would however, highlight the fact that this ingredients list has a few flaws that makes me question myself each time I use this, and a plausible reason to bring light to as well.
If Sulwhasoo were to change it’s ingredients, I will change my rating to full 5 star rating, without a second thought. For the time being, I sit on 4 stars for the product based on the ingredients, despite the oil performance itself hitting 5 stars. Will I buy the full sized product? I can’t say I won’t but I am not going to be running for the Gentle Cleansing Oil every time I run out of cleansing oils. There are better oils out in the market that I can put my faith in, more so than this Sulwhasoo one. I’d most likely repurchase again (and the full sized one this time)  if there aren’t any other oils available and I can’t be bothered venturing out to get the Missha one.

What did you think of this review? Give it a like if you found it interesting and don’t forget to leave comments down below if you’ve used the Sulwhasoo Gentle Cleansing Oil before. Do you feel the same way as I did with the oil, or do you have a different opinion on the matter? Let me know through my social media networks because I like hearing your opinions.

Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics
Twitter : beavties
Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg

Leave a Reply

