Heated Topic – Uee and Kangnam

This post will be informal and completely unrelated to beauty, judging from the title. Just to clarify, these are my PERSONAL opinions, and this is how I feel about the whole matter. 

I am also ditching my usual format with this post, simply because I want to just talk about this little issue here. 

OK first of all, if you guys don’t follow any KPOP news, former After School member Uee has lust revealed she is dating idol Kangnam. It sounds sweet, but in reality, prior to hearing this news, she has lied to her fans and media that she isn’t in a relationship with him and denied all allegations. Shortly after denying everything, she then reveals the truth, which has got a few negative comments in all the forums at the moment. 

So what do I think of this? 

For starters, I support Uee as an idol. I support Kangnam as an idol. I support Uee and Kangnam together. I like them both, and I hope they can lead a happy relationship together. 

Please read and reread the paragraph because I won’t mention it again. 

What I don’t agree on however, and this is what has gotten me negative backlash for, is lying. I do not like people who lie, no matter the shape or form. In any given context, I think lying is bad and I’d rather hear the honest truth, or nothing at all.

What some people fail to understand is that some people support Uee’s choices for lying, saying that she did so to protect herself, Kangnam and the relationship. Another is that, even though she did all of that, she did lie in the end. 

I agree with many of the people, that she DOES have the right to protect herself and protect whoever or whatever it is she wants. What I do not like though, is somebody who lies. Hence why, I decided to go to one of these open forums and input my opinion.

Unfortunately for me, because I feel that lying is wrong, there have been people who state and I quote “that I do not see the bigger picture, and I stand here offended because I live only to hate.”

Excuse me? 

How can I hate an idol I’ve supported since their debut in the Korean industry? How can I hate someone who wants to lead a normal life, or love someone they have strong feelings for?

Look. I just wanted to say that no matter what she could have chosen to do, she would have received backlash regardless. I can understand that. There are people out there who just don’t like idols, who just don’t like people being in relationships, and just love to cause drama. I also see that. 

My whole point on the issue is that she did have an opportunity to stay quiet, which in my opinion, is probably the best option she had with this whole issue. I’d personally rather have someone hide the truth from me, rather than be lied to straight to my face. How you choose to feel isn’t my problem, nor is it any of my business.

What I strongly disagree on, which I’ve mentioned a few times in this post, is that she lied. Full stop. Black and white. There is no denying. She lied.

I’m not saying I’m going to begin hating on everything Uee does now, cause no. That’s stupid. All I wanted to say, is that at the end of everything, she lied, and it’s just something I can not accept regardless.

Nonetheless, she is now in a relationship and I am happy for her.

What do you guys think of this little issue, that really isn’t so much an issue? Let me know through the comments down below, or through my SNS.

Usual blog posts regarding beauty and other things will be up soon, so stay tuned.

– Anthony.

Leave a Reply

