[ REVIEW ] CPAqua Whitening Mask with Arbutin

Another review, another sheet mask. I have been super busy as of late, constantly working and trying to juggle my hectic schedules with my alone time (that being me working up a sweat at home trying to clean the house, fit in laundry and do work on my days off whenever possible; what a life) and it was really nice to finally make some space for myself to indulge in a face mask. That said, I was actually given this sheet mask for free, to try out and give feedback on. Since I do blogging (mostly on my Japanese platform) I thought, why not share with you guys this little mask experience as well.

Here’s to me introducing you all the CPAqua Sheet Masks from the ever so famous brand from Taiwan hitting the shores of many different countries around the world, My Beauty Diary (or so I heard it’s from them, from a coworker).

***for reference, I have combination sensitive skin type (oily t-zone, normal to dry u-zone), prone to acne and my t-zone seems to get dehydrated very easily. My skin tone is sitting at NC30 while it is Summer here in Australia.


wp-1489760907003.jpg

-獨家核心貫穿成分CPAQUA™ NEW!
核心貫穿成分CPAQUA™為眼淚保濕機制的關鍵成分,提升肌膚保濕效果,加強肌膚彈潤感。
-五段式美白科技─運用阻黑因子調節膚色白皙明亮感;加上高純度熊果素α-Arbutin抑制酪胺酸酶活性,阻礙黑色素合成,達到防護、抑制、阻斷、回復、淡化,五段式完整美白,讓肌膚淨透白。
-阻黑因子NEW!
創新成分阻黑因子,具亮白功效,使膚色均勻透亮、提升肌膚明亮光澤感
-3D晶凝縷布膜NEW!
3D晶凝縷布膜緊密服貼臉部曲線,輕薄又透氣的布膜材質,能乘載滿滿濃密型精華,並加強關鍵保濕因子吸收與釋放,深度保水與鎖水至肌底。

CPAQUA utilizes key ingredients to enhance skin moisturizing effects, and elasticity.
– Contains α-Arbutin in a high purity form to inhibit the formation of melanin in the skin cells, protect, block, restore and desalinate the skin for optimal skin health. The arbutin in the mask helps to alleviate darkened skin for a more brightened skin tone, for lustrous and translucent skin appearance.
– Condensed silk cloth sheet mask using breathable cotton material to allow for a thick essence to be absorbed into the mask, and thus transferring the essence directly into the skin for super hydration capabilities

***excuse my choppy ass translating abilities

Basically to summarize, the mask is claimed to improve the skin TONE and also provide brightness to the skin. Note that I did capitalize the word “tone” because this is an alpha-arbutin mask, and arbutin is deemed one of the “safer” whitening ingredients used to lift the skin tone to difference shades. The sheet mask also claims that it will keep the skin well moisturized, which is a huge hurdle to jump when it comes to whitening skincare products.

Whether it be a wash, a mask, toner, lotion, you name it, whitening skincare that helps to LIFT the skin tone up a few shades tend to leave your skin feeling (and looking) dehydrated, lacking of moisture and overall terrible. Sure, you get a change in skin tone, but at the expense of hydration. The other option is to retain the hydration capabilities at the expense of the whitening function itself. Instead of lifting the skin tone, your skin appears more brighter, in the sense it looks like you are glowing from within. There is no change to your skin tone whatsoever, but your skin looks more glossy and your skin is kept well moisturized.

With this mask, I want to see which category this falls into.

wp-1489760911525.jpg

According to the back side, the mask is needed to be kept on for only 10-15 minutes, which is already less than the standard 15-20 minutes or the dreaded 25-30 minutes. It is also noted on the bottom left corner that the mask is made in Taiwan, so a little confused as to why the mask has Japanese writing on the front, but only Chinese on the back. Nonetheless, a sheet mask is a sheet mask, and I have had no problems with any Taiwanese sheet masks as of yet.

INGREDIENTS: Aqua, Dipropylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Glycereth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Xanthan Gum, Chlorphenesin, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, PVP, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Yeast Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Soy Amino Acids, Alpha-Arbutin, Phospholipids, Cyclodextrin, Diglucosyl Gallic Acid, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate

Ingredients highlighted in orange have a safety reading of 3 or 4, and ingredients highlighted in red have a safety reading of 5 or higher.

This is an analysis using CosDNA, which shows that though none of the ingredients have any alarms for acne or irritation possibilities, there is a few ingredients that MAY alter, or damage the skin over an extensive period of usage. I want to mention that though the hydrolyzed jojoba oil ester wasn’t raised as an alarm, jojoba extracts derive from jojoba itself, which categorizes as an essential oil over technicalities; essential oils clog pores which may cause acne and irritations in some. Just a little thought.

wp-1489760939710.jpg

Ok, time for the part where I actually discuss the product itself, how the product came and what I though of the product. I started off by measuring my skin for a starting point to see how my sebum and moisture levels were affected by the mask. FYI I removed all my makeup using Shiseido Perfect Watery Oil, washed my face using The History of Whoo In Yang cleanser, and toned using Etude House AC Clean Up Toner.

WATER CONTENT: 40.8%
SEBUM CONTENT: 18.3%
OVERALL: WELL BALANCED

wp-1489760915878.jpg

Opening the mask, the product had little to no serum left over in the packet, and had me scraping the walls of the plastic for some essence to apply to my neck area. The immediate scent was that of a mild to moderate scent which reminded me of an alcoholic beverage I once had at the club. I think it was called a “Wet Pussy”. Terrible name, but not bad of a drink. I suggest you try one for yourself, to “see how the mask smelt like”.

wp-1489760920945.jpg

The mask sheet itself was double protected; thick plastic backing paper for the back and a thinner plastic backing paper for the front. I found this a tad extra, like the mask REALLY didn’t need all of that protection. At the very least, I found out where all the serum that would have been at the bottom of the packet went, because both of the backing papers were completely soaked with essence I could have used them alone as sheet masks as well and would have gotten 3 for the price of 1 (even though the mask was for free anyway).

wp-1489760945584.jpgwp-1489760950903.jpg

As for the mask itself, the sheet was incredibly thin, very similar to the My Beauty Diary classic sheet masks. The sheet fit nicely on the skin, with the tiniest bit extra just at the back of my jaw, which wasn’t a problem at all. What WAS a problem however, was the mouth cutting which was the most stupid part of the mask. They fricken cut a smile shape into the mouth area, like you’re supposed to smile with a sheet mask on? Really guys?

Bar that little mishap, the nose was a little small which is common with sheet masks, and the paper itself would have been very top notch in my books had it not been for those two little things.

The mask half dried on my face within the 5-7 minute mark, as was nearing dry by 10 minutes. I definitely do think their mask timing described on the packet to be incorrect, as most people would decide to take the mask off within 5 minutes of usage since it literally dries that fast. Remember, you don’t want to pull a sheet mask off when it is bone dry, but when it is  dry to the point where moisture is felt, but not saturated; lightly damp to say. At 10 minutes, that was how the mask felt on my skin, so I felt obliged to remove the mask before I damage my skin from the cotton.

wp-1489760973037.jpgwp-1489760964441.jpg

Right after taking the mask off, I could immediately see that my skin tone was a lot brighter than before (though the camera shows otherwise). The mask also appeared to brighten my skin, and the camera makes my skin look really moisturized and supple.

wp-1489760989789.jpgwp-1489760982590.jpg

Looking at this photo now, I can see I got foundation on my shirt, gosh darn it. Anyway, patting the essence into my skin, my face slowly became more and more dry, dehydrated and really sticky. The essence absorbed really quickly, but left such a sticky residue which was odd, considering my face was parched dry. My skin was also slightly irritated around my mouth area towards the end of using the mask and the process of tapping the essence into my skin. I feel that this is best suited for night use, not only being a whitening mask, but the serum I find, is too sticky for day usage, and definitely way too heavy for under makeup.

wp-1489760994654.jpg

Now for the final check-in, my skin not only looks brighter in skin tone, but it appears to be lighter in skin tone as well, at the expense of dry feeling skin. Results do show otherwise, with a 16.6% increase in hydration content, and a 7.5% increase in sebum content in the skin. However, even with the increase of moisture levels, results do show that the skin has lost it’s balance with the use of this mask, which is something to take into consideration for.

WATER CONTENT: 57.4%
SEBUM CONTENT: 25.8%
OVERALL: AVERAGE

PROS:

  • Paper was thin and felt like second skin on the face
  • Really nice fit around the perimeter of the face
  • Quick mask, averaging on 5 minutes of use per mask. Adequate for those who need a quick fix, have no time for sheet masks, or find masking uncomfortable
  • Lightly saturated, meaning you won’t get a heap of essence dripping everywhere all over the place like other sheet masks
  • Serum absorbs quickly
  • Brightened up my face
  • Actually lightened the skin tone of my face. With constant use, I think that this mask might even have permanent effects

CONS:

  • Drying on the skin and caused a moisture imbalance afterwards
  • Slightly strong alcoholic scent (well I found it alcoholic, you might describe it differently)
  • Slight irritation around the mouth
  • Stupid ass mouth cutting in the paper
  • No excess essence left in the pack
  • Essence is quite sticky on the skin
  • Too thick for day usage/under makeup

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★★☆
PRICE ☆☆☆☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★☆☆☆
OVERALL ★★★☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERDICT: I think for a whitening mask, it’s quite decent. The ingredients list isn’t the best, but it isn’t terrible. The cutting of the mask overall, isn’t horrid either (disregarding the horrid mouth part) and the sheet is very thin resembling that of second skin nature. Though the hydrating factor isn’t very evident in the essence contained in the mask, it is easily fixed with a highly moisturizing lotion or cream you can use after the mask. For a whitening product, this definitely does brighten the complexion and whiten the skin overall, so I guess the mask wasn’t wrong on that aspect. The fact that the mask was quick and easy to use, especially since I’m not big on masking in general, also gets bonus points. I wouldn’t personally repurchase this mask, only because I would rather a hydrating “whitening” mask to prevent my dehydrated skin getting much worse, but overall, I’d be happy to receive this as a gift, or purchasing when on discount/cheap.


Have you tried any CPAQUA mask before? Thinking to give it a try after reading this review? Please let me know your thoughts or experiences either by commenting down below or on my SNS as I’d love to know how you feel. Don’t forget to subscribe to this blog, give it a like if you found it informative and share with your friends and family.

Oh, and one more thing, I don’t post often these days; irregular in fact. If you want to know when it is I actually post, then don’t forget to allow for email subscriptions as to when a new post is released.

Twitter : beavties

Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics

If you have Snapchat, scan the code below.

wp-1489988058897.jpg

If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

Leave a Reply

