[ REVIEW ] ChungJungMiin Soo Green Tea Essence Mask

Another mask sent in to me from Bang Soohyun AKA Alice of W2Beauty which I’m going to be reviewing for you today by the brand ChungJungMiin (청정미인). Honestly, I’ve never even heard of this brand before, and my guess is that it’s equivalent to drugstore level since it’s cheap and well known by a lot of locals. Usually I do reviews on brands that are either well known, hyped or under a well known company, so this review will be a breath of fresh air for me, maybe not for you. Nonetheless, lets get on with the review. As a reference, I’m combination sensitive skin type and I’m quite acne prone.


ChungJungMiin Soo Green Tea Essence Mask uses green tea extracts to make your tired skin feel moisturized.

달팽이 점액 성분 이 들어 있어 푸석 하고 건조 해진 피부 를 촉촉 하고 깨끗하게 건강한 피부 로 가꾸어 줍니다 탄력 있고 탱탱한 게 만들어 줍니다 .
It contains snail slime extracts and green tea for more resilient skin and helps to replenish hydration in drier skin types. Well moisturized and healthy skin becomes brighter and lively after using this mask.

Credits to the original owner of this image. In no way do I claim this as my own.

There isn’t an online webpage anywhere, nor any actual description behind the product so I will review this on green tea stereotypes, as well as what the packaging and the image above claims. The mask claims to be hydrating, firming and pure. I don’t actually know what the pure stands for, but I will assume resilience, repair or healing care, as pure skin usually refers to undamaged, flawless skin. That said, big claims coming from a drugstore sheet mask, and many roadshop brands with similar claims have not been able to pull through.

Starting off with the packaging itself, it looks cheap and definitely something you’d not take a second look at. It definitely gives off drugstore vibes, even when holding it. Actually feeling the mask inside the package, the mask felt really full of serum and seemed to contain a huge amount. I was completely wrong, and, well let this image show you.

There was basically no serum in the package whatsoever, omitting the little tint droplets on the surface of the package, which account for almost nothing anyway. I was heavily disappointed because I couldn’t use anything on my neck. Honestly ChungJungMiin, I needed you to pull through but you let me down real bad we all was rootin for you.

Next disappointment, the paper itself. It is made of that really thick uncomfortable paper that all my reader know I absolutely hate. You know which ones I’m talking about, where it’s dry upon application, feels really heavy on the face but still manages to soak whatever essence it has in the sheet into your skin without changing shape, form or feeling even after 20 minutes of use. Yeah, those kinds of masks. Momma has a lot to say about this sheet and y’all know I can go on forever about it, but I have to act professional, so not this time baby. Maybe when I do a “Worst of 2016” post or something, I don’t know yet.

I have to say though, it fit OK on my skin, like it was thick as hell, but it covered up my face decently. Not too muck extra on the sides of my face, and I was surprised with the nose. The only thing was, the area for the cupid’s bow and moustache area, was thick as hell, like bruh do you want me to eat the mask? Other than the thickness of the sheet itself, and that one area, I was happy overall.

The sheet texture reminds me of Missha Sheet Masks. 

Now, the quality and scent is something I wasn’t disappointed about. The scent was light and fresh, and had a food smell to it. I can’t name the food scent but it’s so familiar that once I hear the food name, it’ll remind me of this mask. That said, it wasn’t off putting whatsoever, only made me a tad hungry. The serum, despite there being none, lived true to its words I must admit. The mask hydrated my skin, balanced it out pretty well, actually tightened my skin and my pores extremely well and I noticed an acne spot reducing in size and swelling right after using this mask for about 20 minutes. Since this is quite light on the skin in regards to treatment, I definitely recommend this to be used in the morning time as a skin prep before makeup, as it won’t ruin your base, provides enough hydration where your skin feels sleek and not sticky, and overall improves the skin texture as well. I should mention, this also cooled down my skin so much, and also didn’t irritate my skin in the slightest.

PROS:

  • Essence is effective in hydrating, tightening and improving skin, even after one use
  • From online stores, these range from AU $0.30 – $1.50 each, so they’re incredibly cheap, depending on where you buy them from. Nonetheless, easily accessible anywhere in the internet
  • Lovely, light scent that reminded me of food
  • No irritations whatsoever, and cooled down the face; perfect for those who have oilier skin types or live in humid areas
  • Pretty decent fit on the skin with little to no extra bits

CONS:

  • Thick paper feels uncomfortable to wear
  • No essence in the mask package, and the mask didn’t feel moist, despite results being more than great
  • Thick lip area can be annoying to have in a mask, particularly one that you wear for about 20 minutes or so
  • Very cheap feeling packaging, and cheap appearance that even roadshop brands don’t have
  • Just like in all my other reviews YMMV, what works for me may not work for you 

    RATING:


    QUALITY ★★★☆☆
    PRICE ☆☆☆☆☆
    REPURCHASE RATE ★★☆☆☆
    OVERALL ★★★☆☆

    ★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

    ★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

    ★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

    ★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

    ★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

    Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

    VERDICT:

    Overall, not a great mask as far as application goes, but the serum in the mask does work. It would be great had the paper been thinner and if there was serum in the packet as well. I would probably opt for other masks as I’ve found way better masks, that offer similar results, if not, better than this as well. These masks are really hard to get, and the pricing for these masks are incredibly cheap, though I got this mask for free so I can’t officially comment on the price.Would I repurchase? Not really, unless they had a sale, or if I’m incredibly desperate. If I want a green tea mask, then I’d go for a Leaders Insolution mask, since they’re saturated and for me personally, very easy to get. 


    That’s it for this review. I have a few more sheet masks to go through that I was offered by Alice, and some makeup items I got from her as well, so please stay tuned. For the time being, you guys can follow my SNS sites down below where I occasionally update about what I’m wearing on my face, my contacts, and just random chit chat about things that pique my interest.

    Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics

    Twitter : beavties

    Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
    If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

    Leave a Reply

    