[ REVIEW ] ODYSSEY Blue Energy Power All-In-One Essence Mask

Typing out the title alone made me cringe, and now I’m writing a review on a sheetmask with a long ass name. I’ll abbreviate the “Odyssey Blue Energy Power All-In-One Essence Mask” to “Odyssey AIO Mask” throughout this blog post so don’t get confused. Anywho, your boy Anthony is back at the blogging game again, and this time, with a sheet mask specific for men. Surprising right? My friend who I’ll call E, told me I was sleeping on men’s specific skincare, because not all of them are as bad as I presume they are out to be, So I decided to give this sheet mask a go. For reference (and I’ll be doing this in all my blog posts from now on) I have combination, mildly sensitive and acne prone skin.

Click here if you want to visit the online store in which I got this, and many of my products from.


오딧세이 BLUE ENERGY 레벨 측정

생기 있고 활력 있는 피부의 시작, 내 피부타입부터 확인하세요! 

피부 때문에 고민인가요? 블루 에너지 파워 올인원 에센스는 잦은 음주와 야근, 스트레스로 인해 피부가 건조하고 칙칙하며, 축 처진 느낌인 분들에게 효과적입니다.

BLUE ENERGY 72% 함유

‘수분/피지/탄력’ 의 밸런싱에 도움을 줌

4주 피부 개선 효능: 

  • 피부 수분량이 사용전 대비 4주 후 24.1% 증가
  • 피지분비된 피지량이 사용전 대비 4주 후 28.8% 감소
  • 피부 탄력이 사용전 대비 4주 후 14.8% 증가

7 IN 1 피부 활력

피부에 생기와 탄력을 한 번에

제공하는 고기능성 에센스

(수분 + 보습 + 탄력 + 주름 + 피지 + 미백 + 진정)

ENERGY BOOSTING SYSTEM

마이크로 히아루론산 캡슐이 수분을 공급하고, 해조 추출물이 탄력 강화에 도움을 주어 탱탱한 피부로 가꿔 줌

5 FREE SYSTEM

동물성 원료/광물성오일/파라벤/ 합성색소/트리에탄올아민 無포뮬라

핵심원료

  • 바다에서 찾아 낸 피부 에너지 원액, BLUE ENERGY

동해 심층수의 맑고 응축된 에너지에 Pico 플랑크톤을 배양한 BLUE ENERGY. 두터운 남자 피부에 효과적이고 강력하게 에너지를 전달하여 ‘수분/피지/탄력’ 의 벨런싱에 도움을 주어 피부의 활력을 제공합니다.

  • 마이크로 히아루론산 캡슐

수분을 흡수하면 불어나, 수분을 가득 채워 생기 있고 탄력 있는 피부로 가꿔줍니다.

ODYSSEY BLUE ENERGY LEVEL MEASUREMENT

My skin type is a skin that is beautiful and full of vitality! 

Do you have any worries about your skin? Blue Energy Power One Essence helps a man’s stressed skin that is effected by heavy drinking and working overtime which has become dull, dry or sagging.

CONTAINS 72% BLUE ENERGY

Helps to hydrate the skin and prevent aging and acne

After 4 weeks of usage:

  • Skin hydration levels are increased by 24.1% prior to usage before 4 weeks
  • Acne troubles are decreased by 28.8% after 4 weeks use
  • Skin elasticity is increased by 14.8% after using for 4 weeks

7 IN 1 EFFECTS FOR SKIN VITALITY

Highly effective essence treats 7 different concerns all in one step

(balancing + hydration + elasticity + firming + acne + whitening + soothing)

ENERGY BOOSTING SYSTEM

Micro Hyaluronic Acid Capsules and seaweed extracts help to improve the skin’s elasticity and health over time 

5 FREE SYSTEM 

Free from raw animal bi-products and materials, mineral oil, parabens, synthetic dyes, triethanolamine formula

KEY INGREDIENTS

  • UNDILUTED ENERGY DERIVED FROM THE SEA, BLUE ENERGY

Specially cultured BLUE ENERGY Pico Plankton derived from the waters of the East Sea. It helps to protect a man’s skin from loss of hydration, acne and skin aging.

  • Micro Hyaluronic Acid Capsules

Small capsules of hyaluronic acid which delivers an abundance of moisture to the skin to allow for better penetration, and to keep skin balance and well hydrated.

Odyssey AIO mask is a sheetmask which uses their star item, the All In One essence as the focus behind the sheet mask. As with other brands, the sheet mask is a concentrated treatment of their main selling essence for better treatment and to target specific concerns where an essence can not perform to it’s full potential. Just like other men’s skincare, this mask targets as many skin troubles through one step in order to reduce the amount of products needed in a skincare regime, which I think is a good idea, considering men usually don’t use skincare, or don’t want 10 or so steps to tend to their skin. In this review, I want to check on 4 of their claims; hydration capabilities, firming care, soothing, and acne. The reason being, is that men’s skincare from other brands also focus on these issues and it would be ideal to focus this review on similar claims that are offered from other brands too.

I tried to find an ingredients list online, but I honestly can’t find the sheetmask for this anywhere. Not even on eBay. The ingredients aren’t also listed on the actual product so I’m pretty much lost and have no idea how to help you guys with it. If any of y’all know exactly where to get an ingredients list, then by all means, help me out here cause momma been looking left, right and centre for something and nobody is pulling through, google I waS ROOTIN FOR YOU!

First and foremost, the mask itself is packaged plainly, with a dark blue paper and basic bold writing. In the perspective of a regular skincare user, this design is absolutely ugly as hell and very boring to look at. I would honestly walk straight past this and not give the packaging a second look. Definitely ideal for a man, since men prefer less feminine designs on their skincare. 

The sheet material is made with that slight cellulose but paper like stuff that have been trending in sheetmasks as of late. It felt quite thin on the skin, almost like skin itself, and conformed nicely to the shape of my face. However, there was quite a lot of extra around my hairline, and the nose was a tad shorter than regular sheet masks you find in roadshop brands. The cutting isn’t that impressive, but if anything to go by, it’s 1000 times better than that horrid Faceshop mask I reviewed in the past. Y’all regular readers know what I’m talking about.

This picture shows you exactly what I’m talking about. The sides are just there like hey girl, and my nose is exposed quite a bit. I actually ended pulling the mask down to cover my nose more which then exposed the top of my forehead.

One thing that’s definitely worth the mention is the scent. Boy does this have a fragrance, and usually with men’s skincare, I can tolerate it. Nope, this one was saturated in that much cologne scents that I couldn’t breathe for 5 minutes. Think of Davidoff Cool Aqua or something similar, and multiply the strength of that scent by 3. Anybody with a sensitive nose will suffer, no, anybody WITH a nose will suffer. The fragrance dissipates after a certain amount of time, but mind you, the initial scent level is way too strong as it is.

The serum is definitely worth the hype though, and I can see why they decided to make a sheet mask version of the serum, because my skin was revived and glowing for the Gods. My skin increased in hydration by 17.3% and my skin oils increased by 8.2% showing optimal health and skin balance. I also noticed after using the mask, and the following day, my skin was tighter, more elastic and my pores were snatched right back, literally barely visible. Despite the strong scent, this didn’t irritate my skin whatsoever, and also cooled the skin down dramatically. The mask claimed for whitening care as well, but I can’t say I noticed any difference in my skin tone in regards to fading scars or toning up. However, this did make my skin naturally dewy, even under makeup, and my skin remained glowing even after 2 days from use.

This is a reading before the sheetmask. As usual, I cleansed according to my usual cleansing routine, which I’ve written a post about.

This is the reading after using the sheetmask.
Even after absorbing the product fully into my skin, this is the finish that resulted, and stayed like this 2 days after as well.

PROS: 

  • Claims are true to their word; kept my skin moist, well balanced, soothed my skin and tightened pretty decently too 
  • Sheet felt nice on the skin and wasn’t uncomfortable to use
  • Serum worked wonders for the skin, and they sell the serum separate from the mask as well, so ultimately, you can pick and choose how you want to use the product depending on your needs
  • Made my skin radiant and super bright as if I wore a highlighter without looking greasy or artificial
  • I didn’t mention above, but I did use this as skin prep before makeup and it works well under makeup. Some masks are better left for night use only; this one can be alternated between day and night with ease, without ruining your makeup and without feeling too heavy on the skin

CONS: 

  • Incredibly strong scent
  • Design, which may be ideal for men, isn’t the best IMO
  • Of course, YMMV so whatever works for me, may necessarily not work for you so just be careful. 
  • Very hard to find online, if not, impossible
  • There isn’t many reviews on this product, and also it’s quite an unknown product on it’s own. For reference, this line is under the Korean supplier AMORE PACIFIC which houses brands like Etude House, Innisfree and Sulwhasoo
  • The paper, despite feeling nice on the skin, had a bit extra around the hairline, and the nose came up fairly short to my liking

    RATING:

    QUALITY ★★★☆☆
    PRICE ☆☆☆☆☆
    REPURCHASE RATE ★★☆☆☆
    OVERALL ★★★☆☆

    ★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

    ★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

    ★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

    ★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

    ★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

    Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

    VERDICT: 

    I’m not too sure of pricing, hence why I rated it 0 stars out of 5. I actually got this mask for free, sent to me by Bang Soohyun AKA Alice from W2Beauty so if you want to try this mask, or anything from Odyssey then hit her up fam. As far as the sheet goes, the quality is decent, but not amazing. I liked the essence in the mask and it’s something I’d probably look into once I’m done with my stash of skincare. The scent really brought the rating down significantly, because if I can’t use something comfortably within the first minute of application, it’ll be really hard to use long term. This is also very difficult to find, as I’ve mentioned before, so again, best hit up Alice if y’all want things like this that seem pretty exclusive to Korea. Would I repurchase? Not necessarily the sheet mask, but the essence separately, maybe.


    That’s it for this review. It’s a tad messy, as I’m back to reviewing off my phone once again with my broken down laptop. If you’re interested in this mask, then please hit Alice up, or if you’re having difficulties finding other products that aren’t available in your country then you can go to her website at W2Beauty where she stocks over 10000 different items at reasonable KOREAN prices (none of that inflated pricing bullshit nah, she’s got u fam). Of course, share with your friends and family if this helped you, Leave comments down below if you have suggestions or feedback and y’all can follow me on my SNS, especially twitter since I’m trying to do more video logs now of sheet masks and makeup check ins for better reference.

    Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics

    Twitter : beavties

    Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
    If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

    Leave a Reply

    