[ REVIEW ] BENTON Snail Bee High Content Mask Pack

I AM SO SICK OF KOREAN PRODUCTS WITH LONG NAMES! Nonetheless, longer names generally mean the products are rich in ingredients that highlight it’s purpose and effectiveness. Benton is a brand I’v never used or heard of before and seems to be pretty popular amongst K-Beauty users in the states. I received this sheet mask for free from Alice at W2Beauty who has helped me countless times to find the products I need in my life. Check her store out whenever you have the chance using my code to get a discount upon your first purchase there! Let’s start off the review on that note.

***this post contains affiliated links.


SnailBee_MaskPack_Page_72f89d03-f8c8-4171-a2f9-637a1cd5d90f
credits to owner and company

Benton Snail Bee High Content Mask Pack is for all types of skin including sensitive and troubled skin types. Instead of water, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water and Snail Secretion Filtrate were used. This high content essence uses Bee Venom, EGF and various botanical based natural ingredients to help improve your rough and damaged skin from various stress and pollution. In addition to the troubled skin care, cooling effect, moisturizing, skin soothing and skin-lifting improvement, this all-in-one functional multi-care cosmetic has functional ingredients such as Arbutin and Adenosine which helps whitening your skin and removes wrinkles.

wp-1464256916430.jpgSuch huge claims from a mask pack; I’ve honestly never seen so many claims in just one sheet mask before, so it’s definitely something anybody would want to try out for themselves. The main claims I want to investigate for myself, is the pore care, skin cooling and the hydration capabilities of this sheet mask. Any other claims that come true are are bonus for me.

Active Ingredient:  Glycerin 4.0%  

Inactive Ingredients:  Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water, Snail Secretion Filtrate, Butylene Glycol, Arbutin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Diospyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Plantago Asiatica Extract, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Ulmus Campestris (Elm) Extract, Althaea Rosea Root Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Betaine, Bacillus Ferment, Azelaic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Human Oligopeptide-1, Beta Glucan, Panthenol, Allantoin, Adenosine, Bee Venomwp-1464256909068.jpg

I love this ingredients list. Snail Bee is free from parabens, mineral oils, alcohols, benzophenone, synthetic preservatives, steroids and artificial colors and flavors. The ingredients only compose of natural extracts, natural preservatives and are free of regular water. Instead of the 70% or so, regular water, which a lot of other brands tend to use a lot of (named water, or aqua) Benton uses 66% of camellia sinensis leaf water and 20% snail secretion filtrate in replacement of the water contents. The ingredients itself also create a pH level of 6, which is slightly acidic to compliment the skin’s natural pH level.

For the actual mask, I was a little disappointed when I unpackaged the product, as the mask itself was made from that horrid cotton material most drugstore brands use. I’m not personally a fan of that particular sheet type since I find them to feel quite heavy on the skin, and uncomfortable to wear. This is a YMMV point to keep in consideration, since a lot of people prefer the complete opposite to me. The scent of this mask, despite it being very faint, put me off as well. I can’t describe the scent other than it being a somewhat dirty smell. Don’t ask me what it is that I hate about the smell because, I can’t find words to honestly describe what I’m personally experiencing with this.wp-1464256906618.jpg

The mask itself wasn’t highly saturated with serum, so it didn’t drip everywhere, and there seems to be very little serum left inside the package. This in my opinion, isn’t good as I find that the serum at the bottom of the package to be quite essential for thicker masks like this, to provide extra hydration and prevent the mask from drying out too fast. The mask felt slightly damp upon application and it made me question whether the moisture already evaporated prior to usage, or if the masks generally come in like this. The cutting of this mask is pretty decent however; it managed to conform to my face shape without too much sitting along the hairline, which I liked a lot, and as for all sheet masks, I wish the nose part was a tad longer as I have a larger nose than most. The inclusion of the eyelid part of the mask is a plus for those who want to tend to their eyelids throughout the treatment, though it is optional. I prefer to fold down the eyelid parts to give my under eyes some extra hydration. Nonetheless, however you use it, it’s a bonus for your eyes in the end and worth noting down.

***BEFORE YOU CONTINUE ON, PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO MAKE A QUICK PRAYER FOR I AM IN ALL STATES OF UGLY AT THIS VERY MOMENT

wp-1464256903701.jpgwp-1464256900109.jpg

Prior to the mask, I applied my usual skin care products. I cleansed my skin with my History of Whoo Seol Whitening Cleansing Foam, Sulwhasoo First Care Essence and the History of Whoo In Yang Balancer. I noticed that smell that was bothering me, disappeared after 2 or 3 minutes, and became very unscented towards the end of the treatment. I left the mask on for roughly 15 minutes, though the mask itself seemed to have almost dried by the 10 minute mark. As I peeled off the mask, I could feel my skin texture had become more smooth, brighter and more dewy. The serum was absorbed fairly quickly and by the next morning, my skin texture was dramatically improved. The finish is fairly sticky, though not as sticky as the Honey Bombee Mask I tried previously. I didn’t see any changes to any sun damaged spots, though I’m sure with repetitive usage, you may see an improvement. My skin however, was incredibly bright the next morning, which may prove the whitening capabilities to be accurate. As for the anti-wrinkle, I don’t personally have wrinkles to worry about at my age, though I applied a lot of the serum around my eyes and skipped my eye cream step. The next morning, I noticed my eyes being less dark (GOODBYE DARK CICLES) and more firm around the lower eyelid. For the mask itself, though it felt dry, it still held a lot of essence, which was strange but highly common with masks sharing similar material.

I just wanted to point out as well, that my skin was highly irritated as I had been out in the sun a lot that day, I cut my face while I was shaving, and my skin just felt really sensitive too. While using the mask, I didn’t experience any reactions at all, in fact, my skin felt cool as I was using this sheet and my skin became calm after the treatment. For those who are concerned for masks that are ideal for sensitive skin types, I’d say give this one a shot because I seemed to have been fine with it. As per usual, make sure to patch test before trying and if you have really sensitive skin, then I suggest purchasing only one sheet first rather than a whole box just in case. Remember that though I have sensitive skin too, I can tolerate a whole lot more tingling and burning that most.

PROS:

  • Absorbed readily into the skin and provided ampoule hydration, brightening and firming care
  • Improved skin texture right after usage, and through to the next day
  • The mask was able to conform to my face shape with little to no excess along the sides of my face or hairline
  • The inclusion of the eyelid cut of the mask, meant you could care for your top or bottom eyelids depending on your needs. Top eyelid care will provide a moisturizing and smoothing effect, which could be useful for those who wear a lot of eye shadows. Bottom eyelid care firms the lower eyelid to prevent creasing or premature wrinkling around the area. It can also help to treat the causes of dark circles or uneven skin texture.
  • Quite cheap. Though I got the mask for free, you can pick them up at Alice’s shop for US $16 for a 10 piece pack.
  • Didn’t irritate my skin whatsoever.

CONS:

  • Sticky finish, which might put some of you guys off
  • Slight smell which I wasn’t too fond off, though it diapered after 3 minutes
  • Not much serum left in the packet after opening
  • The mask seemed to have dried out after the 10 minute mark, though it still held a good amount of essence. This is most probably due to the actual paper itself, as I’ve used masks with similar papers and they also act the same way in regards to the drying and the essence in the mask
  • As this isn’t my preferred mask sheet type, I found it a little uncomfortable to wear as I personally opt for more thinner sheets that feel like noting when you wear them throughout the treatment

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★☆☆
PRICE ★★★★☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★☆☆
OVERALL ★★★☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERICT:
Now, as you guys know, I’m severely fussy when it comes to sheet masks. The paper in this mask was a huge let down, being the material it is. However, I really liked the serum a lot and they do sell the serum separately which I’m incredibly happy about. I’d most likely opt for the serum instead of the sheet mask if I choose to purchase a product from Benton. What I liked is that the claims so far seem to prove accurate, and that you can definitely notice a huge difference even after just using one sheet mask. What I didn’t like is the paper itself, being a thicker material which meant the mask would often than never, “dry out” too fast or be a little heavy on the skin. Would I promote this mask to other people? Yes, and no. If you aren’t prepared to spend money on the serum, then I’d say grab yourselves some of these masks to treat your skin. If you’re like me with the whole paper thing, then I’d say spend your money on the serum instead. It’d be a good investment.

What did you think of this review? Give it a like if you found it interesting and don’t forget to leave comments down below if you’ve used Benton or Snail Bee products before. Have any other products I should try out? Let me know too, because I’m always on the prowl for more things to give a shot.

Facebook : Anthony Jung / The Beauty Aesthetics
Twitter : beavties
Instagram : The Beauty Aesthetics
If you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg

Leave a Reply

