[REVIEW] The Faceshop Sheet Masks

So, I think it’s been a good month or so since I last posted. Apologies guys, I did state I would be a bit busy, but even I didn’t expect it to be this long. Nonetheless, I finally got everything sorted and now I’m back for the first review of 2016! (Albeit, too lazy to do it properly. Let me get back into shape with blogging again). Within my busy periods, I got my hands on a few little items that I’m excited to share with you, as well as a few topics I wanted to discuss in my little corner of the worldwide web. Enough said for now, I’ll move on to the review and here, I have the sheet masks I bought from The Faceshop last year as part of my little haul I did with my friend L. Read the haul post, here


20151210_194338_richtonehdr_mr1449884820803_mh1449885145057.jpg

(YES I RECYCLED THIS PICTURE, SHH)

The Faceshop masks are all specially designed with selected ingredients to improve the skin with each use. Different sheet masks have different focal ingredients to help you achieve the desired skin finishes and different problem healers. From lemon and blueberry, to kelp and honey, there is a sheet mask out there to help address your skin concerns.

I bought the Faceshop masks since I was out in the city and had extra money to spend. Since landing my job at Cosmehut, I haven’t actually been to the Faceshop at all and I’d say, for a good 2 years. Rediscovering the store made me realize why I didn’t shop there anymore. The stock is extremely limited to what the Western market might be interested in (i.e: sheet masks, skincare for matte finishes and makeup for matte finishes) and everything is beyond overpriced for what it’s worth. Nonetheless, the sheet masks and the argan spray (which I’ll review later on) are the only products that piqued my interest and so $70 left my wallet at the store. Yes, $70, for 7 sheet masks and an argan oil spray. Moving on now.

With the masks, I picked up 6 of the Real Nature sheet masks and 1 of the Essential sheet masks, in pearl. To shorten this post, I’ll only be posting the description of each mask, how I faired with them and my final review of the masks as a collection.

REAL NATURE MASK – KELP

WHATA purifying mask sheet that contains kelp extracts to help enable a pure skin appearance

FUNCTION: Deep cleansing

THOUGHTS: The mask smelt very fresh and lightly scented with a watery essence. The paper was terrible as it didn’t conform to my face at all, the paper was thick and I felt like the essence wasn’t even absorbing into my skin whilst the mask was on. Removing the mask, the essence was dripping off my face and there was a lot extra in the mask packet, which I used to pat into my body. I didn’t notice any real results other than that my skin felt more hydrated when using the mask. i didn’t notice any changes to my pores, my skin texture or anything other than the areas in which my face was initially dry prior to using the mask.

REAL NATURE MASK – POMEGRANATE

WHAT: A skin radiating mask sheet containing pomegranate extracts to improve skin resilience and moisturization.

FUNCTION: Improved elasticity and tightening

THOUGHTS: Similar to the kelp mask, I found the paper irritating as it didn’t fit my face at all, and the paper to be this. The essence felt the same and smelt very similar as well. Though I can’t judge on the lifting aspects at all, I did find it to be more moisturizing than the kelp mask and the serum absorbed a lot better than the kelp mask did. My skin became more radiant after using the mask, though only lasted a day.

REAL NATURE MASK – BLUEBERRY

WHAT: A highly nourishing mask sheet containing blueberry extract to help regain skin softness and youthful impression.

FUNCTION: Healthy skin and brightening

THOUGHTS: This didn’t smell like blueberries at all, in fact, it smelt far from any fruit. This mask had a soapy detergent smell, which isn’t off putting, but definitely nothing like you’d expect. Once again, the paper issue is evident in this mask (well actually, all the masks) which annoyed me. For the serum, I found it a little thinner than the other two masks I tried, and absorbed quite quickly into the skin. After using the mask, my skin was super hydrated and noticeably brighter than when I used the pomegranate mask, though, only lasted a day similar to the pomegranate.

REAL NATURE MASK – RICE

WHAT: A brightening and complexion improvement mask sheet containing rice extracts to smoothen and brighten dull and rough skin.

FUNCTION: Brightening

THOUGHTS: This mask had a light fragrance similar to the blueberry mask and as usual, I had issues with the paper. The brightening capabilities of this mask were of a lower caliber compared to the pomegranate and I’m lead to believe whether this mask actually did anything for my skin, other than hydrate. Heavily disappointed with this mask.

REAL NATURE MASK – HONEY

WHAT: A moisturizing and radiating mask sheet containing honey extracts, providing extra glow; helps regain skin radiance and moisture.

FUNCTION: Radiance and hydration

THOUGHTS: For a mask that claims the main function as hydration, it did a poor job compared to my expectations. The other masks were fairly hydrating already, and this mask underperformed in terms of hydration and as a result, I deem this mask the worst for hydration and should not be used by people with dry skin. The brightening claim however, definitely lasted a lot longer than the other masks, giving me a healthy skin appearance for two or three days, which I’m fairly happy about. It also seemed to calm my skin which aided with my small acne bumps appearing along my cheekbones and chin. Once again, the fragrance is far from honey, with it’s detergent like scent.

REAL NATURE MASK – LEMON

WHAT: A brightening mask sheet containing fresh lemon extract to brighten dull skin tone while maintaining its translucence.

FUNCTION: Brightening

THOUGHTS: I think I liked this mask the most. Correction. I liked the serum in this mask the most. The paper still haunts me with it’s incapabilities to conform to my face and the paper being quite heavy. I noticed my skin brightening up quite significantly, the effects on my pimples were positive and my skin stayed fairly hydrated for longer when using this mask. My skin appeared brighter after using the mask and stayed bright for a couple of days, slightly exceeding that of the rice mask. I honestly like this serum a lot and would repuchase.

ESSENTIAL MASK SHEET – PEARL

WHAT: A clear and translucent mask shed for smooth and light absorption and intensive efficacy of pearl

FUNCTION: Brightening

THOUGHTS: The mask is a lot thicker than the Real Nature sheet masks, but conforms a whole lot better to the face. The mask wasn’t saturated in serum, and this meant that I didn’t need to leave the mask on for very long, since it dried up quite quickly. The packaging suggests for 15-20 minutes with the mask on, but it took me 10 or so minutes for the mask to become fairly dry. The package didn’t seem to have much serum left either; only enough to cover my neck area. The scent is rather chemically and will definitely put a lot of people off, but for me, it’s bearable. The mask made my skin much more radiant for a few days at most, and seemed to appear more healthy as well. However, it did break me out around my cheekbones and chin.

PROS:

  • They were hydrating
  • Brightened up my skin tone
  • Serum seemed to be readily absorbable by my skin

CONS:

  • Pricey for what it’s worth
  • I found not all claims to be accurate
  • The pearl mask broke me out
  • The fit was terrible in the Real Nature masks
  • The paper was quite thick, a little too thick for my personal taste (although this is my main issue, which a lot of you guys might not be concerned about)

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★☆☆
PRICE ★★☆☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★☆☆☆
OVERALL ★★☆☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

FINAL VERDICT:

I have to say that I’m not going to make a repurchase any time soon. These masks are sub par at the most; they not only only hydrate and brighten regardless of what mask you use, but they’re also ridiculously priced at $4.90 AUD per sheet. I’ll admit that I’ve bought and used more expensive masks, but usually they’re saturated with a lot of serum, and they’re made of higher quality, or use a different material altogether. These masks were all paper and they’re no different to what you’d find using other road shop branded sheet masks, which is disappointing to say in the least. Fair enough, if the masks were $2 or $3, but these are basically $5 with nothing distinguishable between the different masks I’ve tried from this selection.


How’d you like this first review of 2016? Have you used The Faceshop sheet masks before? How did you fair with them al? I’d like to here your opinions so leave your comments down below, or hit me up on one of my SNS sites.

FACEBOOK: The Beauty Aesthetics
T
WITTER: Anthony Jung
I
NSTAGRAM: The Beauty Aesthetics
WECHAT: Scan the QR code below to add me

picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg

6 thoughts on “[REVIEW] The Faceshop Sheet Masks

  1. The mung bean, mango, and honey real nature masks all made me break out.. really wish I hadn’t ordered 40 of them on a whim when packs of 20 were on sale on Gmarket, haha.

    Like

  2. Hello! Glad I was able to find your blog 🙂 I actually have one from this line and it’s the pomegranate. I recently visited Toronto last week or so and I got to visit The Face Shop, back in the states where I live there’s no Korean stores near me so I was just excited to be in the store. I actually grabbed more from the other line they have (forgot the name) so I’m glad I didn’t buy more, at least you didn’t rate the pomegranate one horribly!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

