[ SHEETMASK SATURDAY ] Mediheal Dress Code Sheetmask – Tone Up

Another Mediheal mask, another fear of burning skin. This Saturday, I’m putting Mediheal to the test (again) to see whether it agrees with my skin or not. My past two reviews with Mediheal weren’t too good, as they both either did NOTHING for the skin or burned my skin to new extremes in which I’ve never experienced before. I really hope that at least one Mediheal mask is compatible with me. Dress Code comes in four different colors, each with different functions.

BLACK: Whitening Care
RED: Blood Circulation and Anti Aging Care
PURPLE: Tone Up Care
BLUE: Hydration Care

I chose to give the purple mask a shot. Here we go with the review.


20151203_110137.jpg

I tore the sheet open and forgot to take a photo, oops. RUSHING MOMENT!

Mediheal’s Dress Code Mask in Berry Violet (Tone-Up Care) contains several high quality berry oils and extract that effectively brighten and revitalize the skin. It efficiently aids in treating exhausted and stressed skin with its natural berry aroma which makes the skin develop healthier cells. It also leaves the skin properly moisturized to keep the skin looking smooth and soft.

This sheet mask is more comical than other masks with the fancy masquerade design it has on the actual sheet. Think of a normal sheet mask seeped in heaps of serum, just with a design on the paper to entertain you (and your guests if you have any). I’ll admit, that I only chose this mask to review from Mediheal because not only have I not been able to write a good review yet for Mediheal, but because I wanted to scare some people as well.

20151203_110147.jpg

INGREDIENTS: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Disodium EDTA, Panthenol, Trehalose, Betaine, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Olea Europaea Fruit Extract, Opuntia Ficus-Indica Extract, Vaccinium Angustifolium Fruit Extract, Euterpe Oleracea Fruit Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia Flower Water, Hamamelis Virginiana Extract, Myciaria Dubla Fruit Extract, Morinda Citrifolia Extract, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, Ficus Carica Fruit Extract, Morus Alba Fruit Extract, Gingko Biloba Nut Extract, Methylparaben, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Beta Glucan, Allantoin, Triethanolamine, Polysorbate 80, Adenosine, Fragrance

Not a bad mix of ingredients in this mask; Butylene Glycol has an acne rating of 1 and Carbomer has an irritant rating of 1, so they aren’t going to be too much for your skin in terms of acne induced sensitivity. Triethanolamine has an acne rating of 2 with a red category rating for skin irritations, so that ingredient alone is worth noting, though placed so far down the ingredients list, possibly something you shouldn’t be concerned about. YMMV!

20151203_110229.jpg

When I put the sheet mask on, I chuckled. The quality of the design is impeccable and something I’d use for entertainment purposes. I think I scared everyone in the household wearing this sheet mask. The sheet itself is definitely thicker than most, which I hate, but the serum is liquid so it wasn’t too uncomfortable to wear, at least for myself anyway. There wasn’t too much extra around the sides of my face and seemed to conform pretty well otherwise. The scent is something I want to comment on though. I didn’t like the scent and I found it to be quite overpowering, and something i didn’t want to endure for the full duration. It’s not a full berry scent, but you can detect the notes of raspberry and other berries in which I don’t know the names of. If you like berry scented products, this is perfect for you. Me on the other hand, tolerable but not something I’d rave about.

20151203_110424_mr1449879745173.jpg

I wish I had nicer collar bones. Eh, I slipped the mask on and after scaring everyone, I sat in my bathtub waiting for the time to pull the sheet off. For the first two minutes, my face did burn, and I though to myself, here we go again. To my surprise though, after those two minutes, my skin must have calmed itself down completely since I was able to wear the sheet for the full 20 mins as suggested with no problems. I don’t know what to gather from that, but it seems this mask only reacted with my skin negatively for a little bit, before working it’s magic on me.

Peeling the mask off after 20 mins, I tried absorbing the serum into my skin, which was absolutely futile and took way too long for what I was expecting. Probably 5 minutes later of just patting into my skin, I finally gave up and followed with my lotion, which helped the excess serum absorb faster. I don’t know if this is normal, or my skin just sucks. Despite all this negativity, my skin didn’t break out in acne at all, my skin tone became so bright and my skin actually felt more smoother after using the shed, even though the serum didn’t soak into my skin very well. I’m pleasantly surprised. I picked up my sheet from Cosmehut for $5, and a box of 10 for $30.

PROS:

  • Didn’t break me out
  • Fancy design that’s perfect for entertainment value
  • Loads of serum
  • Conformed fit to my face with not too much extra on the side
  • Didn’t irritate my skin too much
  • Brightened my skin very well
  • Incredibly hydrating
  • Smoothened my skin texture significantly

CONS:

  • Burned my skin for the first two minutes of using the mask
  • Sheet is relatively thicker than most other sheet masks I’ve tried before
  • Serum didn’t absorb too well into the skin
  • Scent wasn’t my cup of tea
  • Pricey, sitting at $5 for a single sheet

RATING:

QUALITY ★★★★☆
PRICE ★★★☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★☆☆
OVERALL ★★★☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERDICT:

Overall, I am definitely glad I tried this mask out for myself, and that I’m able to FINALL say something good about Mediheal. The sheet was thicker than what i’d enjoy using, which put me off a little bit, and the smell was way too strong for my nose to handle. Other than those flaws, I had a good experience with the mask, and the serum in this sheet worked pretty well for me, despite it only sitting on the surface for the duration of the time. If your skin is able to soak up all the serum, then you’ll definitely love this mask a lot. For me, I’d repurchase on days I have guests over just to be a little bit more entertaining, but for personal use, maybe only when the sheets are on special. Actually, to be quite hones, I’d purchase this serum if it came in a bottle, because of how effective it was in my opinion.


What did you think of this review? Give it a like if you found it interesting and don’t forget to leave comments down below if you’ve used the mask before. Have any other sheet masks to try out? Let me know too, because I’m always on the prowl for more things to give a shot. You can find me on FacebookTwitter and Instagram if you wanted to talk to me online, or look at my beautiful face, and if you have Wechat, then scan the QR code below.

picsart_12-07-02.56.14.jpg

Anthony signing out.

 

Leave a Reply

