[ SHEETMASK SATURDAY ] Mediheal N.M.F Aquaring Ampoule Mask

After my first ever sheet mask review here on this blog, I was heavily disappointed with the Mediheal whitening mask I tried out. Deciding to give the brand another chance, I purchased two more masks from Mediheal, that I wanted to try out and see whether I just picked up a crappy mask from the brand, or if the brand itself is truly a waste of time and money. Today, I’ll be discussing my opinions about the N.M.F Aquaring Ampoule Mask, from the same line as the whitening mask I tried earlier.


picsart_12-04-06.37.08.jpg

The thirst of dry skin is resolved through active water systems such as hyaluronic acid, ceramide and more excelling in the Natural Moisturizing Factor (N.M.F) that exists in the horny layer of the skin as well as the moisturizing effect while LS 8865, witch hazel, and more which have the effect of managing loosened pores by adjusting sebum and tightening pores.

This mask comes from their ampoule range of the N.M.F line, so the sheet isn’t that embogel crap that I experienced with the hydrogel whitening mask I tried earlier, which you can have a read of here. It seems that this mask is great for all skin types ranging from dry skin to oily skin, as it boosts hydration levels in the skin, whilst maintaining sebum output and tightening pores all in one go. Within this review, I’ll have a look at the three main claims it has to offer:

  1. Hydration
  2. Oil Control
  3. Pore Scaling

picsart_12-04-06.38.21.jpg

Once again, I had to type out the ingredients list myself directly from the packet, and this time proved a tad more difficult as there were typos strewn throughout the ingredients list, Hopefully, I avoided typing out the typos but if you spot any, then let me know so I can address them ASAP.

INGREDIENTS: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycereth-26, Propylene Glycol, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Rosa Damascena Flower Water, Fomes Officinalis (Mushroom) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Betaine, Allantoin, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Trehalose, Ceramide 3, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Adenosine, Parfum, Lysine, Histidine, Arganine, Aspartic Acid, Threonine, Serine, Glutamic Acid Proline, Glycine, Alanine, Valine, Methionine, Isoleucine, Leucine, Tyrosine, Phenylalanine, Cysteine.

Ingredients listed in bold writing are all potential acne triggers sitting in level 1 and 2 for potential harm towards your skin where you may experience breakouts. Chondus Crispus has the most potential to harm your skin, with an acne trigger at level 5 (being the highest level) and irritation potential of level 2. Keep that in mind. Not only is Triethanolamine an acne triggering ingredient, but the safety level of this ingredient is red category, which has a potential for long term skin damage as well, as it is highly comedogenic.

The N.M.F Aquaring Ampoule Mask is a cotton sheet, and I’m glad I chose the right one, as I am aware there is a hydrogel version as well. Flashbacks to the experience I had with the whitening mask, and how poorly I rated it. Well, here’s high hopes that Mediheal can pull through with this mask. Taking the mask out from the packet, the mask felt very heavy, but wasn’t dripping in serum, which I found a little bit disturbing. Usually, masks are soaking in serum, and will drip when you take them out of the packet, so this was odd in my opinion.

After unwrapping the mask and placing it on my face, I was pleasantly surprised at how thin the sheet was, and how well it adhered to my face. There doesn’t seem to be too much extra around the sides of my face, so this suited my long and thin face very well. The fit on this mask is definitely a highlight for me, and how comfortable it is to wear on my face. Though the mask wasn’t dripping wet, the sheet was super saturated in a very thick serum and was cooling upon the skin as well. So far so good.

20151201_211007.jpg

20151201_211236_mr1449182656862.jpg20151201_211246_mr1449182679757.jpg

I left the mask on for the recommended time of 15-20 mins (I didn’t monitor the time as I was busy doing other things) and peeled the mask off. I noticed that half way into wearing the sheet, my face started to warm up a little bit around the edges of the mask, and my cheekbones, and chin started to itch a little. I paid no mind to it and kept the mask on, thinking it was nothing, but turns out my skin was starting to get irritated from using this sheet. Luckily for me, my skin wasn’t too aggravated in the duration of the application, so I took it off just in time. I’d say a few minutes longer and I would have looked like a tomato.

After peeling the mask off, I tried patting the serum into my skin, but my face felt incredibly sticky and gross to touch. I continued for a good 5 minutes of just pressing against my skin and there was no change, so I applied the rest of my night care, or tried to I should say. My lotion that usually soaks into my skin immediately felt like it was just sitting on the surface of my skin. Not only that, but my skin felt really oily after applying my regular lotion, which was so odd. Same goes for my night cream, and with closer inspection, my left cheekbone looked a little bit bumpy.

For the claims, I’ll go through them one by one, and talk about my personal experiences with them all.

HYDRATION: I felt that my skin didn’t feel any drier than it was prior to using the mask, so this claim seems to be true to it’s word to some extent. No, my skin wasn’t dry, but it didn’t feel super hydrated either. I’d say it was pretty mediocre, and there are other masks that give off better hydration than this one, and this mask is purely intended for hydration purposes.

OIL CONTROL: I definitely did not notice my skin getting better after using this mask; in fact the serum in this mask seems to have aggravated my nose areas into producing far more sebum than usual, and since the serum was way too thick and didn’t soak into the skin well, it made all my other products I usually have no problem with, create an oilier complexion for my skin. This claim was false in my opinion.

PORE CARE: I didn’t notice a dramatic change in my pores, not that I was expecting a miracle in the first place, but my pores seemed to be more lifted, and my skin appeared far more brighter after using the mask. I can probably say with constant usage over a long duration will have you see changes to your pores, and overall skin appearance. This claim has the Anthony approval.

The morning after, I noticed my cheekbones having very small, but many breakouts and my chin looked unhealthily irritated. I have breakouts along my cheekbones now, my skin is still fairly red from using the mask and, in all honesty, I found it difficult to sleep last night, since my face felt like fire half an hour after completing the rest of my skincare. I will note however, that my pores seemed tighter the morning after, and looked fairly clean so there is a positive to this mask. My face wasn’t excessively oily either, and my skin didn’t seem to be too dry. Overall, I can’t rate this mask too high, but I did notice a few changes to my skin condition.

PROS:

  • My pores became tighter
  • Pores seemed to be more cleaner
  • Overall, my skin wasn’t too oily the next day and didn’t have any noticeable dry patches.
  • Cheap, considering one mask was retailing at $3.50 per sheet and $30 for a box of 10
  • Sheet was thin and adhered well to my face, without too much extra sitting on the side of my face

CONS:

  • Broke me out in acne
  • Irritated my skin significantly
  • Serum was so thick and didn’t absorb into my skin very well
  • Made my night care extremely oily and felt like my creams weren’t absorbing into my skin at all
  • Mediocre hydrating capabilities; this is a con since the mask is intended for extreme hydration, and this one was subpar to what I expected. If the mask wasn’t one for hydrating purposes, then it would be a pro

RATING

QUALITY ★★☆☆☆
PRICE ★★★★☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★☆☆☆☆
OVERALL ★★☆☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

VERDICT:
I can’t forget that my pores became tighter, more clean in appearance, and the morning after made my skin not too oily but not too dry. I did however, encounter a lot of irritations whilst using the mask, and it broke me out like no tomorrow. I’d say if you have skin that isn’t sensitive or acne prone, this might be the mask for you. I am, however, both acne prone and sensitive, so I had a bad run with this mask and will most likely not repurchase this at all. The only highlight for me when using this mask, is the texture and feel of the cotton on my face, the fact that it adhered well to the skin and the changes to my pores. Otherwise, this mask will go straight in the bin if given to me for free, or if I had any left in my mask stash.

Once again, not entirely happy with yet another Mediheal mask, and I definitely don’t see myself repurchasing it at all. I still have one more Mediheal mask to try out, with these two flops, I’m worried about whether I should go ahead with using it, or leave it be. If you like this review, then show it by clicking the little star icon down below, and comment whether you had the same experiences with this Mediheal mask. Any other products I should give a shot? Let me know through my Facebook and I’ll try to get my hands on it. Until the next post,

Anthony signing out.
EDIT 26th of May, 2016.
I received the Mediheal Ampoule Mask from Alice over at W2Beauty and used it once again, but this time, I had no skin irritation. In fact, my skin was calm the entire time. The mask applied extremely well with a thick serum coating the sheet. The paper material was so thick but felt light on the face and was made with a paper membrane sort of film, which I liked a lot. The mask was very cool on the skin, tightened my pores extremely well, balanced the skin whilst giving me an ethereal glow for the entire day after using the sheet. One thing to note in my old review is that the mask broke me out. This time around, it actually helped my pre-existing acne, as they became smaller and almost in-evident. Another comment I made was that the mask lacked the hydration levels that I was expecting, due to the fact the serum wasn’t readily absorbed by the skin. This time around, my expectations were blown out of the water; it hydrated my skin so well that I didn’t even feel the need to continue with any emulsions or creams (though I did anyway) and it kept my skin so moist for a good 2 or 3 days, before returning to normal. My skin drank up the essence this time around and my skin seemed flawless. Definitely something you’d all be looking for in a sheet mask. With constant use of this mask, I’d definitely say I’d repurchase the Mediheal Ampoules in a heart beat, if they’re as good as this one I tried. Mind you, it could have been a fluke, but for the time being, I’m ecstatic.
NEW RATING

QUALITY ★★★★★
PRICE ★★★★☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★★★
OVERALL ★★★★★

12 thoughts on “[ SHEETMASK SATURDAY ] Mediheal N.M.F Aquaring Ampoule Mask

  1. Oh, this was a good read. Sorry to see this wasn’t too great! Have you tried their Pore-Stamping charcoal one yet? I just grabbed a box at my TJMaxx and I have a breakout from another product test haha, so I may try that mask soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you tried this mask a third time since posting your update? I wanted to order some, but I’m paranoid about anything that might make me break out haha!

    Like

    1. It’s different for everyone, I actually have acne prone skin but I’ve been using this one for months now and my skin never broke out since, unless i eat too much junk….hydration wise I don’t see that much effect but the pores thing really is true. Also I recommend using a really good toner afterwards, most of my friends haven’t been able to leave this toner ever since we got introduced to it one day: The brand is TUNEMAKERS and the rest is in Japanese which says : 原夜保湿クリーム (copy and pasted)

      Like

  3. hi Anthony love reading your blog just to check with you regarding Mediheal N.M.F Aquaring Ampoule Mask saw that you have edited your blog and gave good comments. Could you kindly post the photos of the packaging of the masks you had used after editing. Because i had mediheal mask too just like you however my mask is not L & P Clinic but mediheal the hyun bin version. So i am so confused which is the real version of mediheal.

    Like

    1. I didn’t even think to take a photo of the packaging. ive already used and discarded them all. I think I have an IPI mask and a PFD mask still so i’ll have a look and get back to you as to which company they’re from

      Like

Leave a Reply

