[ SHEETMASK SATURDAY ] Sulwhasoo Innerise Complete Mask – 여민마스크

This is a more expensive mask, which I’m sure you’re all aware of, given the brand that this is under, but I thought why not give it a try to see whether it was worth the money or not. A lot of people have told me that Sulwhasoo sheet masks are really good and definitely worth every penny, but I’ve been disappointed before with sheet masks, whether they’re high end or budget friendly. Since I couldn’t get my hands on the Snowise EX Brightening mask, I got what was available, and chose to try out the Innerise Complete Mask instead. Here are my thoughts.


20151127_111037.jpg

시작되는 피부 노화 대응을 위한 영실단 성분의 효능

찔레열매와 옥죽, 홍삼사포닌으로 이뤄진 영실단

예부터 화로, 즉 꽃 이슬로 불리우며 여성들이 말린 꽃잎을 비벼 세수를 하는 등 화장품 대용으로 사용되어온 찔레 열매에 옥죽과 홍삼사포닌을 더해 만든 영실단 성분이 피부 밀도를 조밀하고 단단히 여며줍니다.

탱탱한 탄력감으로 피부 전체를 여며주는 마스크

사용 후, 빛나는 피부와 한결 촘촘하고 매끈해진 피부표면과 탱탱한 탄력을 느낄 수 있습니다.

감싸 안듯 밀착되는 2주 발효 고밀착 마스크

찔레열매를 넣어 2주 동안 발효시켜 만든 치밀한 구조를 가진 바이오 셀룰로오스 시트가 응축된 영실단성분을 피부에 충분히 전달해줍니다.

 

Formulated with Yeongsil Complex to target early signs of skin aging

Yeongsil Complex is composed of Baby Brier Fruit, Polygonatum Officinale, and Korean Red Ginseng Saponin Ingredients in Yeongsil Complex include Baby Brier Fruit—often called flower dew, the dried leaves of which have long been used by women for facial cleansing—as well as Polygonatum Officinale and Korean Red Ginseng Saponin. Yeongsil Complex firms and fortifies the skin.

Firms the skin, making it smooth and resilient

After using the mask, your skin will be smoother, firmer, and more luminous with a supple and resilient skin texture.

During a special two-week fermentation process, the mask gains the ability to provide a superior, more natural fit

The advanced technology of bio-cellulose sheet structure is enhanced through two weeks of fermentation with the Yeongsil Complex, providing superior delivery of the powerful age-defying ingredients to the skin.

How fancy does that sound? The following quote comes from the official Sulwhasoo page and claims that this mask is your ultimate savior to reduce and inhibit the early signs of aging using the star ingredient, ginseng. As well as the anti-aging benefits it claims to have, all Sulwhasoo products (not just this mask) is noted to improve skin clarity, brightness and overall health. My skin is lacking a lot of brightness lately, so I’m wondering if this mask will help or not.

The instructions to use the mask are incredibly specific, but simply use like any other sheet mask. I’ll type out the specific interactions below.

1432716367570

 

여민마스크의 한 쪽 망을 벗겨 냅니다. (마스크는 양면이 동일합니다.)

Open the package, unfold the mask and remove the film on one side. (The mask can be applied from either side.)

 

1112131334

마스크의 광대 부분을 손가락으로 잡고, 눈, 코, 입 부분의 위치를 맞춘 후얼굴 전체에 맞게 붙여준 다음 이마 부분을 들어올려 얼굴에 붙여줍니다.

Attach the mask to your face by aligning the mask with the location of your eyes, nose and mouth while holding the cheekbone area of the mask with your fingers. Then, lift up the forehead part of the mask and attach it to your face.

3544411

 

한쪽 손으로 마스크를 고정한 후 다른 손으로 겉면의 망을 조심스럽게떼어냅니다.

Hold mask with one hand and remove the netted backing with another hand.

 

143465524

마스크가 고르게 밀착될 수 있도록 손가락으로 가볍게 눌러줍니다. 약20분 후, 마스크를 떼어내고 피부에 남은 미용액을 두드려 흡수시켜줍니다.

Gently press with your fingers so the mask attaches to you face. When the essence of the mask is absorbed (approximately 20 minutes) remove the mask and gently pat with your palms and fingers to penetrate excess liquid.

Note that these four images are the property of Sulwhasoo and credits go towards Sulwhasoo, or the creator of these images, and in no way do I claim these as my own.

20151127_111211.jpg

I tried to translate the ingredients list as technical and accurate as I could (meaning I had to type this all out myself, ugh) since I could only find the ingredients in Korean. Hopefully these are all correct, and if not, please let me know ASAP so I can fix it immediately.

INGREDIENTS: Water, Butylene Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Glycereth-26, Alcohol, Niacinamide, Trehalose, Diethoxyethyl Succinate, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Licorice Root Extract, Ophiopogon Japonicus Root Extract, Paeonia Albiflora Root Extract, Nelumbo Nucifera Seed Extract, Polygotanum Officinale Rhizome Root Extract, Lilium Tigrinum Flower and Leaf Stem Extract,Rehmannia Glutinose Root Extract, Honey, Adenosine, Rose Multiflora Fruit Extract, Pinus Koraiensis Seed Extract, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Sesame Seed Extract, Glycoproteins, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, 1-2-Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Methoxy PEG-114/Polyepsilon Caprolactone, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin, Disodium EDTA, Tromethamine, Kaolin, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, Hyrolyzed Ginseng Saponis, Chaenomele Sinensis Fruit Extract

Butylene Glycol was classed as a level 1 acne irritant and Carbomer was classed as a level 1 skin irritant. The two ingredients however are incredibly common in many skincare products, and honestly comes down to your own mileage. The other highlighted ingredients are flagged as yellow category safety ingredients, meaning that they may affect your skin depending on your skin condition over a long period of time. I wanted to point out that despite alcohol being listed as the 5th ingredient in the mask, there are a lot of soothing herbal ingredients as well as licorice extract to counteract the irritation that alcohol has known to give.

20151127_111325.jpg

Since I’m incredibly clumsy and pretty much a butter fingers, I attempted to try and apply the mask as shown in the description above. It was a struggle and the mask was very fiddly but in the end, I got there. This mask comes in one piece and the netting is very thick and tough. I assumed the mask was thick too, and something I’d really despise using, but I was proven wrong.

Between the netting pieces you are to remove when applying the mask, lies a very thin gel sheet completely soaked in a lot of serum. The gel sheet conforms to your face incredibly well and will suit basically any face shape. The serum is thicker than most masks, and rich, but combined with the very thin gel sheet, the combination goes well together and is a comfortable mask to use.

20151127_111639_mr1448667892836.jpg

As for the scent, it is very Sulwhasoo-like. If you’ve ever used Sulwhasoo serums before, then you’d know exactly what I’m talking about. Lightly fragranced with notes of herbs and ginseng but not too overpowering that it’ll induce headaches and such. I quite like the scent of the mask, and is probably the best smelling I’ve ever used. The serum inside is quite thick as I mentioned before, but very Sulwhasoo-like. Though the serum is thick, I can definitely say it absorbed exceptionally well into my skin without that heavy feeling you sometimes get when using thick serum masks.

After 30 minutes (because my mask had A LOT of serum and stayed incredibly moist for a long time), the sheet became a little tacky and that’s when I knew the mask was dried up, so I peeled the mask off. My skin looked glossy and, how to describe other than 아점마 (ahjumma) like. If you’ve ever seen old Asian ladies, you’d notice they all have that very glossy, super dewy skin look that makes their skin look almost healthily bathing in oil. This sheet mask gives you that finish after tapping the serum into the skin. Since the serum is really thick, and there is a lot of it, I’d say this mask may be too much during the Summer time, but during Winter, it’d be perfect. I picked my mask up from Cosmehut, retailing for $12 a piece, or $58 for a box of 5 sheets.

PROS:

  • Comfortable to wear
  • Conforms to the face and adheres well
  • A lot of serum that penetrates the skin effectively
  • Lightly fragranced unlike other branded masks
  • Gel sheet that isn’t too thin nor too thick
  • Brightens the skin, firms the skin and improves overall skin health even with just one use. The effects are very noticeable and seems to have lasted overnight and the morning after
  • Very hydrating

CONS:

  • For a sheet mask, it’s pricey and probably better off getting the bottled serum instead
  • Fiddly and hard to work with when applying to the face
  • Quite rich, and probably best left for usage during Winter time
  • Alcohol is listed as the 5th ingredient
  • Mask feels tacky after the serum has fully absorbed into the skin

RATING

QUALITY ★★★★★
PRICE ★★★☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★★☆
OVERALL ★★★★☆

VERDICT:

The price is a letdown for me, but it is Sulwhasoo and I did expect a lot from the mask to begin with, given the name and the price. I wasn’t disappointed at all, and despite how expensive the mask can be, I’ll think about repurchasing a full box, and probably try to get my hands on the other masks from their ranges. If you have trouble with hydration, aging issues or if your skin lacks vitality and radiance, then get this mask ASAP because it’s definitely a life changer, and a great product to invest in. If you’re like me and are too lazy for sheet masks, then the same serum found in the mask comes in a bottle format that you can purchase. The product lost only one star due to the price. If it were cheaper, then this would be hands down a 5 star product and I would happily recommend it to everyone.


What sheet mask should I try out next? If you had any recommendations, don’t forget to let me know down below in the comments box or through my Facebook page. Have you tried Sulwhasoo sheet masks before? How were your experiences with them all? I’m definitely going to try the whitening mask now since I have heard great stories about it. Until the next post.

Anthony signing out.

 

Leave a Reply

