[ REVIEW ] Too Cool For School Dinoplatz Cushion

After a week of pure illness, major issues and a lack of WiFi, I am finally back this week (excuse the unannounced hiatus) with a cushion review. I often try to watch Get It Beauty whenever I have the time to, so noticing the cushion I’m reviewing today was chosen as one of the top picks for Summer in Korea, I had to get my hands on it. Luckily for me, it was one of the best sellers on W2Beauty and I was able to get one easily.


I am a huge advocate for multi-use products, or things that don’t take up a lot of space in your bag. The cushion itself looks really chunky and something you wouldn’t want to carry around, or so I thought. This beauty is a cushion, primer, concealer and lip & cheek rouge all in one. Introducing the Too Cool For School Dinoplatz UFO Cushion 4-in-1 that takes the hard work out of your daily makeup!

12274398_1640176929565286_498468294091486148_n

Ever wonder how celebrities have skin that look pore-less and absolutely blemish free? Well we have just the solution, and the best thing is that this dinoplatz compact is all that you will need to achieve that flawless face! The pore balm seamlessly covers any blemish and pore so once the BB Foundation is applied, the radiance level of your complexion will transform that dull, uneven skintone. The BB Foundation also sits ever so lightly on your skin so it doesn’t look heavy or cakey! Then go back and cover up any darker areas like your under eyes, and any darker blemishes with the concealer. Finally, add some color back into the new you with the lip & cheek duo that can also be used as an eyeshadow…talk about convenient and AMAZING! Featured on Get it Beauty and Allure as an 2015 Hit Item!

The cushion sounds so promising, but since the description gave the impression that the finish was leaning towards a more semi-matte feel, I wasn’t too sure how this cushion would work for my skin. As I mentioned, probably every time I posted this past month, semi-matte or matte products look terrible on my skin. Get It Beauty and Allure reassure this is the must have item for 2015, so I definitely had high hopes for this product when I received it in my W2Beauty parcel. Rather than doing a super complicated review, I wanted to keep this one simple, by talking about each component separately, and a quick overview for how each product works well together.

12289762_1640176976231948_3333630495879025475_n12249689_1640176942898618_3581643319672016788_n12274369_1640176962898616_5585612721319159333_n

PORE PRIMER:

This is a clear balm that you apply around your t-zone, any area you tend to get oily and around your enlarged pores for a smoother and less oily complexion prior to applying your cushion. The balm itself is clear and melts easily into your skin without highlighting any of your flaws. I think it does the job pretty well, but since it’s so small, you wouldn’t want to use it for your entire face. I think this works better as a second primer for smoothing rather than something you’d use on your entire face. You only get a little bit of the pore primer as well, so you’d want to save as much of it as you possibly can so you don’t run out of product before the actual cushion. I used the pore primer on my nose, along my t-zone where I get uncontrollably oily and under my eyes. It works to control sebum output in the skin, but also doesn’t feel too drying either. The primer also makes the makeup last a lot longer and doesn’t aggravate dry areas around my face, which tends to happen with other pore primers. I’d probably suggest the pore primer to people with normal to oilier skin types.

CONCEALER:

This stuff covers so well; I have opted for this concealer more often than my Kill Cover concealer from Clio, which I love soooooo much. I find that the cake type concealer in this compact works very well with my skin without being too dry. Other branded cake concealers are too heavy and very drying, especially for my under eyes, but this concealer works like a dream, even if I don’t apply any hydrating eye creams before using this. I really want to get the concealer itself upon my next purchase, since it’s so good. If you know where to get the concealer, then let me know down below, because I truly need it in my life. It will settle into your fine lines and wrinkles if you aren’t careful, so don’t forget to powder under your eyes and easy-to-crease areas to avoid terrible looking makeup.

LIP AND CHEEK ROUGE:

This has a semi-dewy finish that brightens the overall complexion. The color isn’t too loud and definitely build able, so it’s perfect for natural makeup, but also for very strong or bright makeup looks as well. Using it on my lips isn’t too bad; since my lips are basically dry all of the time, I try not to use it unless I moisturize beforehand, since this will aggravate any chapped or very dry lips. It’s not too flattering if your lips look flaky. It does seem to moisturize a lot better than other rouges which I like, so I suppose it’s really one of those products that are either a hit or a miss. Using it as an eyeshadow works like a dream if you’re into cream types. You can use this as a base before your powders, or alone as a single color, but keep in mind that it is a creamy type, so don’t forget to set it into place to avoid the product creasing throughout the day. I used this rouge under the concealer to cover up my ultra dark circles, and the pink shade works very well to cancel out any blues or purples from the dark circle itself, which means better coverage! My little tip for you, shh.

CUSHION:

The actual BB cream itself isn’t as matte as I thought it would be. Yes it’s more matte than what I prefer, but this isn’t so matte that it accentuated my dry areas excessively. My skin these days have become more dry due to the whitening products I’m using to prevent my terrible face tan I generally get when Summer approaches. I’ve solely relied heavily on my hydrating cushions and BB cakes, but this multi box cushion seems to work pretty decently with my skin without the overly dry feel to it. Possibly due to the hydration care it claims to give as well. The coverage is quite light to medium, build able coverage that goes onto your skin thinly with each layer application.

I got myself the shade Janna (Natural Beige – 23) which might be a tad too dark for my preferences, but I knew beforehand if I were to get the lighter shade, it would fit NC15, which I am NOWHERE near. My skin seems to fit NC25 according to my preference, and NC30 if I want my face to match the tone of my body. The cushion in shade 23 seems to lie between NC25 to NC30, which comes off a little dark compared to what I wear usually, but definitely workable. The product also contains SPF50+/PA+++ which is notably high, but I’d suggest applying sunblock before this cushion as well.

If you guys have more yellow undertones, then don’t get this BB cushion, since it lies more in the neutral to pinker shades than it does yellow. If your undertone isn’t overly strong, then I’d suggest you sample it before you make a purchase to see how comfortable you are wearing it, otherwise, steer clear for now. If you are pinker in undertone, then this will fit your skin very well provided your skin tone is an NC25 or higher. Other people found the cushion to be more yellow in undertone, but whenever I use it, I found it to be more pinker, so I’m either completely blind to colors, or everyone else is wrong.

With my purchase on W2Beauty, I received the cushion compact, and a refill for the cushion for $55. It seems that the other components don’t have a refill to it, so use the concealers and rouges sparingly if you have the cushion refill. The cushion contains 12g of product, which is 3g less than other cushion brands which sit at a minimum of 15g. Keep in mind though, that you also get the other goodies, so the packaging isn’t too much chunkier than it already is. I think the 12g is a fair call with the addition of the other parts to this cushion. I think that $55 for a cushion and a refill is a decent price, since the IOPE cushion I bought a while back was for the same price for the cushion and a refill. If you want the cushion itself, then the price is $39. The refill alone is $21

The sponge is unlike other cushions; it is a rounded square puff that has more surface area to cover your skin faster, and the rounded edges are able to cover hard to reach areas like around your nose and lips. It also seems to be more porous so the liquid distributes evenly, rather than smearing a huge dollop on your face, which is also a smart move as well. The sponge doesn’t seem to absorb a lot of product which I personally think is good, because who likes sponges that sucks up more BB cream than it does applying it to your face?

Bare faced, primed with only the pore primer. It smoothed out my skin in preparation for the cushion BB.

11990625_1640178242898488_3996555354079342804_n

With BB applied only to the left half of my face. The color comes off pale at first, but oxidizes almost naturally.

12294778_1640178266231819_3532742663631289437_n

Cushion applied to all over my face, which has oxidized after 10 minutes and is basically the same tone as my neck now, if not albeit slightly paler. I applied concealer and rouge to eyes, cheeks and lips as well as drawn my eyebrows on (very poorly).

12246660_1640178312898481_2469376978219789958_n

Since the blush didn’t come up on the camera very well, I took a close up, and the color payoff for the rouge on my cheekbones is quite strong with two layers. One layer looks almost naturally flushed, whereas two layers looks more dolly. I also applied one layer to the eyelid for a rosy appearance.

PROS

  • Good money investment
  • Contains primer, concealer, BB cream and rouge which saves you time on busier days
  • Concealer is the star product in the entire compact, being able to hide away all your imperfections
  • One of the few cushions that is able to match your skin tone provided you sit darker in the spectrum of skin tones
  • Pretty good for oilier skin types without being overly matte and drying
  • Swivel tray tucks well underneath the cushion itself
  • Handy design in packaging
  • Porous sponge that distributes product evenly onto the skin and doesn’t soak up too much product into the sponge
  • SPF50+ with a PA protection of 3 pluses.

CONS

  • Better off not intended for those sitting in the dryer skin types since it may emphasize patches and flakiness
  • Rouge can emphasize chapped lips if you don’t moisturize your lips with a balm beforehand
  • Product can settle easily into fine lines or wrinkles if you don’t powder to set into place
  • Lighter to medium coverage means you’ll need to layer more if you want to hide larger imperfections
  • I personally don’t like matte products, and this is a bit too matte for my liking

RATING

QUALITY: ★★★★☆
PRICE: ★★★★☆
REPURCHASE RATE: ★★★★☆
OVERALL: ★★★★☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

FINAL VERDICT
It’s definitely a good investment to spend your money on, since the Dinoplatz cushion comes as a 4-in-1 product that doesn’t take up too much space in your bag. For beginners starting out with makeup, this is something worth getting your hands on. For expert makeup artists or those who regularly wear makeup, maybe not the best of the cushion crop, but still handy to have at your disposal. I love how there are only two colors, but they fit well to my skin if I want natural makeup, and each component seems to work very well. With other multi cushions I’ve tried, they disappointed me, but not this one. Overall, this lost points for the formulation of the BB cream since it was more matte, but otherwise, definitely something I’ll repurchase regardless. The concealer is a huge hit for me, and one I get my hands on the concealer itself, then it will definitely become a HG. For the meantime, I have better cushions I can use, but I still would recommend this product to people, and I’ll still use this cushion when my skin gets too oily during Summer.

Have you tried the Dinoplatz UFO cushion before? How did it work for you? Are you planning to get one for yourself now? Let me know in the comments below, or leave a message on my Facebook to let me know of your thoughts. I’m always looking for new makeup goodies to try so send in your suggestions too. Until the next post.

Anthony signing out.
Leave a Reply

