[ SHEETMASK SATURDAY ] Mediheal I.P.I Lightmax Hydrogel Sheet Mask

I’m starting a new segment in my blog since sheet masks seem to be popular with a lot of people getting into Asian beauty, and because they’re easy to use. I’m not going to post a sheet mask review every Saturday because I’m lazy since I don’t use sheet masks very often, but whenever I’ll do a sheet mask review, it’ll be posted on Saturdays. I’ll start off with the Mediheal I.P.I Lightmax Hydrogel sheet mask, since one of our regular customers at work suggested to us to try this out.


Mediheal I.P.I Light Max Hydrogel Mask helps control the production of melanin (which causes darkening, hyper pigmentation and sun spots) and makes your skin look instantly brighter and more radiant. This mask is perfect for people who suffer from uneven skin tone, sun spots and pigmentation or for anyone with a dull, lacklustre complexion.

wpid-20151024_204422.jpg

Some of you will pick this out almost immediately, but yeah, I have a Whoo box under the mask; which I’ll review another time. This mask claims to inhibit melanin production, improve skin clarity and make skin more lustrous with continual usage. The sheet itself isn’t paper like other branded masks; it is made with a cellulose silicone gel sheet (which they refer to as embogel) that adheres well onto the skin. From the ingredients list, it seems niacinamide is the main ingredient that helps to fend off melanin, as it derives from vitamin c – alpha, the most stable and effective form of vitamin c. The mask claims it is also dermatologically tested and contains mulberry root extracts and arbutin for an improved skin tone.

To use, simply apply onto a well cleansed and toned face and leave the mask on for 15 minutes, before peeling off and patting skin dry to soak in the serum. Each mask contains 25mL of serum in each single sheet and comes in a pack of 10. The I.P.I Lightmax comes in two formulas, regular version and the 2x UP, which is the one I used here.

wpid-20151024_204430.jpg

Incase you can’t see the ingredients here in the image, I took the liberty to type out the ingredients as well. Thank me later.

INGREDIENTS: Water, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Glycerin, Morus Alba Bark Extract, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Polygonum Cuspidatum Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Arbutin, Diospyros Kaki Calyx Extract, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Disodium EDTA.

With the ingredients, it seems that PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil is the most harmful ingredient in the list, though with the percentage of it contained in the mask alone, it isn’t enough to cause severe irritations unless applied upon cuts or injuries. Other than that, the ingredients list seems to be pretty sweet and it’s also noted that the masks here don’t contain any artificial fragrances, artificial colors, mineral oils or benzophenone.

wpid-20151024_204529.jpg

Now, with my experiences with sheet masks of any kind, I hate masks that don’t conform to my face well, or masks where the actual sheet is too thick. This mask worked very well with my face shape and the gel wasn’t too heavy on my face, which I liked a lot. The mask came in two pieces; one for the upper part of the face and one for the jaw and mouth area. Masks that are separated into two or more pieces seem to work very well for those with different face shapes which is a HUGE plus in my books. Raise your hands if you’ve ever had a sheet mask that was as big as a dining table cloth that covered your hair line with more to spare.

wpid-20151024_205017.jpg

Cue the ugly selfie. Ah well. One key point with this mask is that it is made using a silicone gel rather than a cotton sheet. The mask itself has a smooth side (which you apply to the face) and a ridged side (which is referred to the endogel side) for skin smoothing and surface reconditioning. Using the smooth side made the mask adhere well to my skin and the ridged side left my skin feeling really smoothed out and more tighter after usage. The serum however was sub par for me. Though it contains a lot in just one mask, I didn’t feel like there was any serum left after two minutes of using the mask. In fact, after taking the mask off, my skin felt so dry and I didn’t notice any effects on my face right after, or even in the next day.

There was some left over serum in the packet so I squeezed it out and applied the serum normally with my hands on another day, and even that didn’t do anything to my face. People told me they liked this mask a lot and found it so helpful to brighten the skin complexion, but it did nothing of the sort for my experience. This result is making me want to steer clear from Mediheal masks altogether, but maybe it might just be the sheet itself, so I’m willing to try their cotton sheet masks and compare the two types.

RATING

QUALITY ★★☆☆☆
PRICE ★★★☆☆
REPURCHASE RATE ★☆☆☆☆
OVERALL ★★☆☆☆

★☆☆☆☆ – I want all my time wasted and all my money back for this crap. If I could turn back time and tell my past self not to use this, then I would without a single doubt. If I find this in my collection or if someone gave it to me, I’ll set it on fire and pray to the All Maker to repent for using such a terrible product.

★★☆☆☆ – It’s pretty bad and I definitely wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, but it’s nice to give it a go for myself. I’ll only use it if it was given to me for free and I’m severely desperate.

★★★☆☆ – It’s nice but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get another one for myself. Maybe if it was on special then I’d consider buying it, otherwise there are better products that I like a lot more than this.

★★★★☆ – It’s quite good and I would repurchase definitely. It’s not a staple yet, but if I can’t find anything better, then I’ll happily stick to this product.

★★★★★ – OH MY GOD GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BECAUSE IT IS A LIFE SAVER AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY EVEN IF YOU BECOME POOR BECAUSE OF IT OMG

Now that you know what the stars mean, you can figure out what I mean by my personal ratings.

Would I buy this again? No way in hell. I wouldn’t even want to really use it unless I literally got it for free, and I was asked to use it, or if I’m out of sheet masks to use for the day and I’m desperate. I really hated the mask a lot and there are so many better masks out there that not only cost cheaper, but are more effective.

I got it from Cosmehut for $5 a sheet, or $40 for a box of 10.


Like this post? Follow me on my Facebook Page, and recommend me products to try out. You can also send in your questions for my weekly Q&A through private message, posting on my wall or even through the comments down below. If you had any enquiries then you can also submit questions through to anthonyjvng@gmail.com; feel free to message me about anything at all. I think I’ll leave it at that for now.

Anthony signing out.

 

 

One thought on “[ SHEETMASK SATURDAY ] Mediheal I.P.I Lightmax Hydrogel Sheet Mask

Leave a Reply

