[ REVIEW ] Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner

One of my customers, and loyal readers told me to review more cheaper products since not everybody is able to invest their money in skincare as avidly as I do. I agree, that these days I tend to focus my attention to more pricier items than I do cheaper products, and so I’ll try and include more products that are easier on the wallet. Here’s my first entry with the Wonder Pore Freshner by Etude House. Please note that there are two versions of the Wonder Pore Freshner; the regular version which has 7-in-1 solution, and the one I’m reviewing, the 10-in-1 solution Freshner, which seems to be the upgraded formulation for the much raved about toner. This product became the best seller in our store since Cosmehut opened, so I wonder how it performs on my skin.


The Wonder Pore Freshner is a total pore solution: effectively cleans the inside and outside of pores with its special peppermint extract. It is a 7-in-1 total pore solution freshener for intensive pore care made of Anti Pore-Dex Complex & Astringentlex for tightening up pores effectively

This toner (old version) claims to treat 7 skin issues that most people tend to suffer more often, especially during hotter periods like Summer. It helps to:

  • Deep cleanse the pores
  • Control the output of sebum in the skin
  • Restore the pH to acidic at 4.5 (slightly above normal)
  • Tightens pores
  • Cleans from dead skin cells, dirt, makeup and debris
  • Moisturizes
  • Makes skin elastic

Ingredients: Water, Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract, Alcohol Denat, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Glycereth-26 Betaine, Sea Water, PEG-60 Hydrogenated CAstor Oil, Dosium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Cycmbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Prunus Mume Fruit Water, Uncaria Gambir Extract, Nelumba Nucifera Flower Extract, Cinnamomum Zeylanicum Bark Extract, Sanguisorba Officinalis Root Extract, Pelargonium Graveolens Extract, Taraxacum Officinale (Dandelion) Leaf Extract, Chrysanthemum Morifolium Flower Extract, Chamaecyparais Obtusa Water, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Dissodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylglycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol.

Okey, so the 7-in-1 formula seems to sound pretty dandy, but online reviews showed that people either liked it or hated it. Nobody sat on the fence with this toner, so it must only work for a particular skin type from what I can assume from this. The Wonder Pore 7-in-1 Freshner has alcohol listing as it’s third ingredient which seems to be a huge no-no for a lot of people. Possibly because of the connotations that alcohol has, being deemed the skincare demon that ruins your skin. Let’s now take a look at the new formulation.

wpid-20151015_221148.jpg

The Wonder Pore Freshner is a total pore solution that contains peppermint extracts to care for your pores. It is a 10-in-1 total pore solution freshener for intensive pore care made of Anti Pore-Dex Complex & Astringentlex for tightening up pores effectively. I’m the Wonder Woman for your pores, more powerful.

The new formula claims to:

  • Balance the skin’s pH levels to 4.5
  • Refine the skin tone
  • Keeps the elasticity of pores to allow them to spring into uniform size
  • Remove dead skin cells from the skin surface
  • Cleanse the pore insides with the cooling peppermint effect
  • Deep cleanse the pore of excess sebum, dirt and debris
  • Minimize the appearance of pores
  • Control the sebum output in the skin
  • Moisturize the skin and all the underlying layers
  • Smoothen skin texture

It honestly seems that the claims are fairly similar to the old formulation, just more long winded.

wpid-20151015_221206.jpg

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Betaine, Mentha Arvensis Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit/Leaf Extract, Sugar Cane Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Fruit Extract, Chamaecyparis Obtusa Water, Gingko Biloba Leaf Extract, Acer Saccharum Extract, Gentiana Lutea Root Extract, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract, Glycereth-26, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acetic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol.

Alcohol jumped up to second place in the ingredients list and the compiling of ingredients has decreased in amounts too, so you’d assume that only a select few people can use this toner. WRONG! Even though there is more alcohol in the new revamped version of the Wonder Pore Freshner, the alcohol content is balanced out with all the soothing care ingredients the product has to offer, to decrease the likelihood of irritations in the skin. Also, since the product is pH balanced to suit all skin types, it improves the function of the acid mantle to prevent further damages to the skin, and allows the skin to function optimally. The scent does reek of alcohol though, which may put people off using this.

I’m not too sure about you guys, but the packaging bothers me a lot. I hate cutesy products because it’s bad enough when people look at my products and give me a weird look for using skincare catered for “women” (when in reality, skincare products are unisex and anybody can use them, provided it fits their skin type) so Etude House loses points on the packaging details. That, and the pump dispenser the bottle has annoys me. Sure, it makes the process more convenient, but it’s hard to control how much toner you get using the applicator. It’s recommended you use cotton pads with the toner as well, because good luck trying to get the liquid into your hands without spilling everywhere the applicator disallows you to use your hands when applying the toner to your face.

I bought this product for one reason alone. Not for my pores, since I’ve come to believe my pores will never change from the way they are now, but for the sebum control and the cooling effects that the toner had. As far as sebum goes on my skin, the entirety of my face seems to be in check with sebum, producing a healthy amount that makes my skin appear so radiant and dewy. My nose however, which is the main problem for almost everyone when it comes to skincare, seems to be spurting out oils left, right and centre. I don’t go a day without having to blot or re-powder throughout the day to control that amount of oil seeping out from my pores. I was hoping that this toner would do me justice, but unfortunately, it didn’t do anything in the slightest for my sebum. The cooling effects are also unnoticed; I was expecting a menthol feeling on my face which I get from my exfoliator and scalp tonic, but instead, the freshner felt like any other toner.

The other claims seem to be quite spot on which I’m happy about. Though my pores always seem to be clean, and my pores won’t get any smaller, I’ve noticed my pores aren’t appearing as clogged as they used to be prior to using the product. It’s also Summer now and usually, my pores will appear larger than normal, but they’ve retained their uniform shape and aren’t getting any larger as the weather is increasing. Whenever I use a sleeping pack, I will notice my entire face is covered in crater like pores, but using the Wonder Pore Freshner has maintained a beautiful skin appearance the morning after, and seems to  hold onto moisture more often. The main claim, which discusses pH is my favourite of all. Since I get incredibly sensitive around my nose and areas where I shave, I require a pH buffing agent to restore my skin to normal, and prior to introducing the freshner into my skincare routine, I relied solely on my Missha Time Revolution First Treatment Essence Intensive to decrease the likelihood of irritations when tending to my skin. Now, pairing the two together, I don’t have to worry about irritations since I know the essence and this toner will take care of my skin.

I saw so many photos online where people used the cotton pads provided with the toner and once applied to the face, the pad picked up so much dirt and gunk from the skin. I tried for two whole weeks to get similar results, but in the end, nothing. Not a single trace of dirt and no gunk whatsoever. The product either didn’t clean very well, or I just cleanse my face way too well to need a cleansing toner in my routine. I tried on my friends however, and voila, the cotton pads are ridden with so much brown it’s off putting. After the second week, I tried even harder to soil the cotton pad, but still nothing. Third week, same results. I think only after a month was I able to actually see the residue from my pores appearing on the cotton pad, which sort of saddened me, but brought light to the fact that I clean my skin so damn well there is nothing else to remove.

wpid-20151015_220548.jpg

That literally took me so long for me to get those results showing on the puff. I don’t understand how anybody else can get their cotton puffs so dirty though, since it was a struggle for me at first. Although, honestly speaking, I was having a lazy night and I didn’t clean my skin as effectively as I usually do, so that’s possibly the reason why the pad became dirty this time around.

Speaking of pads, buying the new formulation of the Wonder Pore gets you a 500mL bottle of the Freshner, plus 50 cotton pads designed to work with this toner. The pads you get are different from ones you get from a store, as they’re generic pads with one size that has a gauze on it to effectively deep cleanse your skin. For my case, it wouldn’t matter what kind of pad I use since it does nothing for me anyway, but for those who need extra help in cleaning their pores, then this will be life changing for you. As well as that, 500mL is SO MUCH product to offer. My usual toners sit between 100mL to 200mL at maximum. I’ve used the Freshner every day since purchasing it, and it looks as if I haven’t touched it one yet. I can easily say that if you use it twice a day, the Freshner will see you through beyond 6 months, maybe even a whole year.

I’m not posting a photo of my pores, since I did mention that it did nothing in reducing the size of them, nor did it help to clean them, as my pores aren’t able to get any smaller now, or become even cleaner than it already is. If you’re in the same state as me, then you’ll find that it may do nothing for you as well. I think the only way it will work for you is if you don’t cleanse properly and your pores are enlarged by damaging causes like not cleaning your skin thoroughly enough or if you’re exposed to direct sunlight for long periods of time.

RATING

QUALITY ★★★☆☆
PRICE ★★★★★
REPURCHASE RATE ★★★☆☆
OVERALL ★★★★☆

I think all in all, it was pH balanced which is why I rated the Wonder Pore Freshner quite decently. I don’t know if I’ll repurchase the product or not, since I find my Missha essence is enough to recalibrate my pH levels to normal already, and this toner doesn’t do much for my skin now. Maybe 5 or so years ago, when I used to have incredibly dirty skin and a face covered in pimples this may have been a staple, but now, not too sure. I can assure you though, since it’s Summer and I usually get pimples around my face, I haven’t noticed any breakouts as of yet, so I’ll gladly say that since using the toner, I haven’t broken out severely yet. The alcohol content may put some people off, and I can understand why since there are so many who have reactions to alcohol of any form. My sensitive skin around the areas of my nose and chin haven’t reacted once to the product so that’s another plus. The pricing here in Australia is only $20 which is so cheap and budget friendly, since first of all, you get heaps of product and free cotton pads, and secondly, Asian branded toners usually retail at LEAST $25 for a not-so-impressive product. I think it will be a huge staple in many people’s skincare but not for me.


How did you find this review? Have you guys used the Wonder Pore Freshner before? Let me know down in the comments below, or through my SNS your personal experiences with the product, or if you’re going to purchase one. Have any recommendations for me as to what you think I should give a try? Let me know as well. Until next time.

Anthony signing out.

3 thoughts on “[ REVIEW ] Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner

Leave a Reply

