[ REVIEW ] Innisfree Seasonal BB Cushions

Or, more commonly known as, the Long Wear and Ampoule Intense cushions. These two cushions were designed to be used during certain times of the year, depending on the season. I received mine from an eBay order I placed roughly three weeks ago, and I had to try them straight away, the moment I received them in the mail.

I’m not sure if I mentioned it or not, but when I do my reviews, I like to wear my makeup items two ways; firstly, whilst wearing it on a normal day, and secondly, whilst at work. I’ve mentioned in my About Me page that I worked in a kitchen, which means I’m constantly exposed to extreme heats, or extreme colds, depending on the situation.

Anyway, with that information in mind, let’s get to the actual review. I’ll review both the cushion products individually.

imageThe outer package is made of cardboard; quite plain, but chic packaging. Innisfree claims to have used soy ink for all the printing on the packaging. I love that the box is made of natural ingredients and cardboard; encouraging us to recycle.

imageThe Ampoule Intense cushion provides excellent moisturization to the skin to achieve long-lasting dewy skin. Perfect for the colder days of Winter.

imageThe Long Wear cushion contains powders in the formula to help control perspiration and sebum buildup, without looking incredibly matte. Perfect for the hotter days of Summer.

imageInnisfree’s cushions come in three shades; 13 (light beige), 21 (natural beige) and 23 (true beige)image

  • Contains Mineral Powders.
  • Contains extracts of green tea from the plants of Jeju Island.
  • Provides a long-lasting hydration effect for soft and supple skin.
  • Creates dewy skin for a radiant glow as light reflects against the skin’s surface.
  • Allows for natural and even coverage for makeup that resembles natural skin.image
  • Contains Mineral Powders
  • Contains extracts of green tea from the plants of Jeju Island.
  • Incredibly long-lasting to adhere to the skin with minimal to no touch-ups.
  • Smooth fit for a flawless finish.
  • Allows for natural and even coverage for makeup that resembles natural skin.

imageOpening the compact reveals a magnifying mirror and a ruby-cell puff (excuse the fact mine is a bit dirty) to apply the product from the cushion.

imageOpening the cover reveals the cushion seeped in BB cream, allowing for a more even application and even product dispense. The cushion is removable, allowing for refill cushions to be inserted to the compact shell.

LONG WEAR CUSHION

WHAT I LIKED:

  • It’s claim for being long-lasting is true. My makeup looked the same from the moment I put the cushion on in the morning, right up until I washed it off at night. Being exposed to a kitchen environment, I noticed the cushion adhered extremely well in excessive heat ranging from 50ยฐC (in normal conditions) to 180ยฐC (frequently exposed to steam and heat over long periods of time, from cookers and ovens)
  • My skin felt smooth all day, and replicated real skin.
  • Slight blurring effect, and applied well over a primer and concealer.
  • Had a pleasant tea tree, or floral scent that I personally liked.
  • The powders in the formula kept my skin free from sebum throughout the day, wearing it normally. Whilst in the kitchen, I noticed my face wasn’t as oily compared to wearing other cushions and BB creams.
  • Reasonable pricing: $42.95, including postage and handling, for the cushion cream and a refill cushion.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

  • Didn’t come in my shade; for a 23 shade, it was light. Other makeup products in 23 seemed to match better to my skin tone than the Long Wear cushion did. Therefore, the more layers I applied to my skin, the paler I became.
  • My skin felt dry, even whilst in the kitchen
  • My skin looked quite matte, which wasn’t to my liking. I prefer dewy skin, so this cushion didn’t provide what I personally wanted in a base product.
  • Using a powder on top of the cushion caused my face to appear and feel really dry. I couldn’t set my under-eye or my eyelid areas, which meant I had creasing occur throughout the day.
  • Re-applying throughout the day makes your makeup look slightly cakey.

OVERALL:

It’s not that bad of a cushion; it definitely does what it claims to provide for your skin whilst controlling sebum. I didn’t like the fact it made me feel dry all day, and how matte it appeared. I’ll happily use the rest of the cushion until it runs out, but I’m leaning towards not repurchasing a refill..

I’m torn in the middle; I don’t like or dislike the Long Wear BB cushion, so I don’t know whether I’d recommend it or not. I’ve noticed different people have felt different things about this cushion, so it comes down to personal preference I suppose. Give it a go, you might like it. If you prefer dewy finishes, or you have dry skin, be it from the season, or your skin type, then this product is not for you. Try the Ampoule Intense cushion.

 

AMPOULE INTENSE CUSHION:

WHAT I LIKED:

  • Just like the Long Wear cushion, all the claims Innisfree have said about this product are true. All day, my skin has felt incredibly supple and smooth, and looked dewy from the moment I applied it in the morning, to the moment I took it off at night. Whilst in the kitchen, it adhered well to my skin, and didn’t lose any radiance or moisture whilst exposed to excessive cold air over long periods of time.
  • My skin replicated really healthy looking skin, as if I’ve just finished my skin care regime.
  • Had a pleasant tea tree, or floral scent that I personally liked.
  • Since the cushion was so moist and radiant, I omitted my highlighter from my makeup routine since it gave off the same dewy look with a highlighter on.
  • Applying powder to set the makeup still kept the dewy appearance and soft skin, which a lot of makeup products can’t do.
  • Reasonable pricing: $34.95 with postage and handling.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

  • Didn’t come in my shade; for a 23 shade, it was light. Other makeup products in 23 seemed to match better to my skin tone than the Ampoule Intense cushion did. Therefore, the more layers I applied to my skin, the paler I became.
  • My skin was oily throughout the day

OVERALL:

I really love this cushion, and I would wear this everyday; Winter especially. It is really hard to find a makeup product that can keep your skin feeling really hydrated in the colder seasons , so when I discovered how the Ampoule Intense cushion was able to do this, I pretty much had to let you all know how amazing this really is. I’ve seen so many Korean celebrities rave about the cushion, at how it kept their skin moist all day without the need to touch up; and it sounded too good to be true. Thank you to Innisfree for proving me wrong.

I definitely recommend this cushion to everyone; but mostly those who suffer from dryer skin types, those who get dryer in the colder seasons or those who live in colder climates. It will give you that “just cleansed” finish and keep your skin feeling like it’s “drowned in water.” With oilier skin types, I recommend powdering after using the cushion, just to set your makeup, and control sebum buildup throughout the day. If you prefer matte finishes, this product is not for you. Try the Long Wear cushion.

 

That is it for the two reviews today. If you enjoyed this rather long read, then hit the like button, shoot me a follow and leave comments below on your experiences with either of these cushions, or let me know what cushions you guys are using that I should try.

love anthony โ™ก

2 thoughts on “[ REVIEW ] Innisfree Seasonal BB Cushions

  1. That’s interesting. Thanks for the comparison post on both cushions ๐Ÿ™‚ Am quite surprised to hear the long wear adheres even in the very moist and warm kitchen environment. Yes the long wear isn’t meant to be set with powder, and needs to be applied over a good moisturiser ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a shame to hear the ampoule intense is oily, but not too surprising, since it is a very moisturising product after all!

    Like

    1. Yeah, I like to review all my makeup items under extreme conditions, so I did love the lasting power of both cushions. If you wore a good moisturizer under the long wear, then you’re all sweet. Hope it helps.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

